GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
10,455 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
13 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 Thumb up
 Hide
1 Posts

1960: The Making of the President» Forums » Sessions

Subject: Not *really* a session report... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kevin Garnica
United States
West Covina
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I just didn't think this would be fitting in any other forum.

I wanted to share a quick thought about how my first game played out, not in terms of what transpired, but how the game felt.

In the music world - which is what I do for a living, performing - the cliché is that your audience will always remember the beginning of a piece of music, the ending, and how the middle..."felt." I thought this was very true for this game as well. So, here goes:

In the course of 9 (giant) turns of this magnificent game, the first 5 turns are buildup turns. The very beginning was slow going, as my opponent and I were reading the cards like mad men, carefully weighing our options (he was Tricky Dicky and I was that character from the Simpsons with the thick "Bostonian accent" )

After I got the hang of what I was doing, I suddenly felt very proud of myself for being so clever as to figure out ways in which to effectively deal with a hand that was dealt to me that was less than satisfactory. It's all about the "timing" and "order" of cards played. I also realized how excruciatingly important the issues are. This aspect was painful my first game, as I rarely one any. I still managed to keep my opponent from using his momentum markers too much, using my cunning wits. Good job, me!