GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
8,804 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
19 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
17 Posts

Age of Industry» Forums » Rules

Subject: Selling to a demand tile rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alysa
Netherlands
Zoetermeer area
flag msg tools
Garfield
badge
Never trust a smiling Garfield!
Avatar
Does not weild any extra income unlike with Brass...

Edit: oops, I meant unlike Brass not like Brass
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alysa
Netherlands
Zoetermeer area
flag msg tools
Garfield
badge
Never trust a smiling Garfield!
Avatar
tikiguy wrote:
The distant market in brass did wield extra income sometimes, if you were early in the market.

Were these demand tokens simply avenues for you to

A.) not have to build a port

B.) not have to use an opponents port


Corrected my post to what I meant

And yes, the reasons to use them were A) & B), but also:

C) to be able to flip your industry and generate income

D) to prevent from opponent to use them and force them to build ports

The whole income thing is different with AoI, you have to keep flipping industries to keep getting income, not like Brass where you move up the income track...
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alysa
Netherlands
Zoetermeer area
flag msg tools
Garfield
badge
Never trust a smiling Garfield!
Avatar
Yup, in the last round you won't need to try frantically to flip your factories to get the VPs...

And raillinks are worth almost nothing, beware of that difference as well!
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alysa
Netherlands
Zoetermeer area
flag msg tools
Garfield
badge
Never trust a smiling Garfield!
Avatar
Yes and $6 = 1.2 VP, while in Brass the same link would result in 4 VP!

It's pretty easy to remember what can be built in the empty spaces, everything on the left side of the player's aid sheet can be built in the empty spots. Everything on the right only when the spaces are marked as the corresponding industry.

So, coalmines can't be built in the empty spaces...
8 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alysa
Netherlands
Zoetermeer area
flag msg tools
Garfield
badge
Never trust a smiling Garfield!
Avatar
Maybe I should have added indeed that every $5 is worth 1VP at game end...

When coming from Brass you can be tempted to build quite some rails at the end for the points alone, while in AoI you better build a few industries even if they don't flip...

Also, VPs wise it's actually better to overbuild yourself than to build a raillink to an empty spot and then build...
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruce Murphy
Australia
Pyrmont
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
tikiguy wrote:
Yes rereading the rules I think this will be a very good game.....Do you pay loans off at face value during the game?


Yes, possibly even before paying interest on them. Loans really aren't very punitive in AoI, it's one of the reasons that the game feels looser.

B>
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Slater
United Kingdom
Newport
Newport, South Wales
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
tikiguy wrote:
It also seems that during the endgame they're still the same for repayment. 1 vp per loan. That still equals $10 which is one loan


No, if the loans are unpaid at the end of the game, they cost you 5 VP per unpaid loan.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Schrecengost
United States
Damascus
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Aenea wrote:

... while in AoI you better build a few industries even if they don't flip...


yeah, be careful with that. Example: a level 4 factory is worth 4VP's, and costs $20 to build, plus an iron and a coal. $20 is 4 VP's in cash. If it doesn't flip, and you got your coal and iron for free, it is a wash. Pay for iron or coal (or both) and you make a loss. Flip it, and you come out ahead. One of the guys I play with thinks that the pressure to flip is less in AoI, I somewhat disagree. Flipping is the only way to pay off loans and get ahead of the loan game.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.