Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Diceland: Ogre» Forums » Rules

Subject: Ogre AP and the G.E.V. dodge rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Sam Edge
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This really is a sticky point.

The OGRE AP is an all range weapon. As per the rules: "A shot with the all range arrow hits every visible target."

GEV dodge, again per the rules: "Dodge is a continuous effect, which means that it does not require an action. It is functioning for as long as it is showing. A die with dodge is invisible to all Enemy sight arrows, including weapons and special effects, unless it is the closest visible target of those arrows."

Dodge doesn't trigger, it's passive. The real question here is how the AP attack works, and how the timing resolves. Is there an "attack counter", which AP doles out to all valid targets, and then resolves closest to fartherest; or, does it single out each target, and hit and resolve each one, in sequence? I generally lean towards the first option, as this is how the CP "Command ALL" ability works.

This would give you option b. When AP fires, it puts an AP "counter" on each valid target.... which would exclude any GEV's showing dodge. Then, each AP counter resolves its attack.... taking out the crunchies, and flipping everything else, closest to fartherest, in sequence.

I'd ask what people think before setting up the game, just to make sure. If it's among friends, I'd say this would make a good standard house rule.

This is something that could use some official clarification, either way.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
L. Scott Johnson
United States
Columbia
South Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It would have to be b), yes.

Otherwise, if you did it strictly one-by-one (handling one and then moving to the next-farther one), you could run into a loop where one die gets targetted twice:

die A gets hit and damaged (moves).
die B gets hit and damaged. It's damage move brings it close to the shooter than die A is.
So, moving out from B, you hit die A again.

Clearly, this is not the way.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Barry Figgins
United States
Woodland
California
flag msg tools
badge
http://lyrislaser.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sight lines are checked at the time a shot is made, so yep, your GEV can dodge just fine.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.