Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Empires of the Middle Ages» Forums » Rules

Subject: First playthrough. Diplomatic ties and a taxation question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Joe Kuehler
United States
Roanoke
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Can one have both a diplomatic tie and a claim to an area? If not, does having a claim entitle the owner of the area to deduct two from the rebellion area, or, in the case of a claim to an opponent's area, add two to the rebellion level?

Also, does the "Enalrgement of Kings' Personal Demesne" event entitle the owner to gain one extra gold for EACH area taxed, or just one extra gold during taxation?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Graham-Leigh
United Kingdom
Westbury
Wiltshire
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A tie deducts 2 from the rebellion level (adds in a foreign-owned area); a claim does not. You can, and usually want to, have both a claim and a tie in each area. The "Personal Demesne" card adds 1 gold total, not per area.

Have fun with this terrific game.

4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Sielski
United States
Pequannock
New Jersey
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yep...John is right. And you usually want both if you can ... a Tie and a Claim.

Doc
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lewis Goldberg
United States
Bonnots Mill
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So I'm confused because tie and claim are on the opposite sides of the same counter. But besides that, I just have absolutely no idea when you "control" an area, as in you put your color markers on it. Can anyone tell me what diplomacy does in short words
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Sielski
United States
Pequannock
New Jersey
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You "control" the areas you start with. Place a Claim marker on these areas.

During the game ... you may place Claims under certain instances (see rules). For example, you conquer an area where there are no Claims. So you use Diplomacy to get a Diplomatic Tie. If you succeed, then that area has your claim.

1 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lewis Goldberg
United States
Bonnots Mill
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dr Brian wrote:
You "control" the areas you start with. Place a Claim marker on these areas.

During the game ... you may place Claims under certain instances (see rules). For example, you conquer an area where there are no Claims. So you use Diplomacy to get a Diplomatic Tie. If you succeed, then that area has your claim.



Okay, let me see if I got this:

I use my Conquer endeavor on an independent area (Pop = 1), there are no claims and no ties in the area. Once I conquer it, I swap the white independent social status marker for my color.

I do not yet place any tie or claim marker.

On another play of a year card, I do a diplomatic endeavor on that area.

If the result is Tie, according to what you said above, I place a Claim marker...?

What would happen if I got a C result? Same thing as above? Not?

Can I have both a Claim and a Tie marker on the same area?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Graham-Leigh
United Kingdom
Westbury
Wiltshire
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you've conquered an area and succeeded in a diplomatic endeavour you place a Tie, as you say. Then if nobody else has a Claim there, you can immediately place your Claim marker. If there's already a Claim there, you need a Recognition of Claim card to put your own Claim on.

A C in a conquest endeavour makes no difference to this. A C in a diplomatic endeavour gives you a Tie and Claim immediately.

You can certainly have a Tie and a Claim in the same area. This is highly desirable.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lewis Goldberg
United States
Bonnots Mill
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for that! So, a tie and a claim are two different things; they are not steps in a continuum? (as in, you don't get a tie first, and then get a claim and flip the counter over.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Graham-Leigh
United Kingdom
Westbury
Wiltshire
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, you never need to flip the counter.

Glad to help with this brilliant game.
1 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.