Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Hive» Forums » Rules

Subject: Moving throw the last empty space around a queen rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Denis
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Imagine a queen bee is surrounded by 5 pieces and a 6th piece (say, a spider) moves through the last space but does not stop its movement there.
Does the game end?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mateenyweeny
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
Raks Raks Raks
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nope. The queen must be fully surrounded at the end of the turn.
8 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Denis
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks a lot!
thumbsup
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russ Williams
Poland
Wrocław
Dolny Śląsk
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Indeed it's how I've always seen it played (that you check at the end of the turn), including in online implementations and tournaments.

Yet looking at the rules, I see it's surprisingly ambiguous!

The spider is described as moving in steps, and the game is said to end "as soon as one Queen Bee is surrounded", so I can imagine interpreting that as checking after each step of the spider's movement.

(Yet another spider variant to make the spider a little bit more powerful! Woot!)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.