Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Rails of New England» Forums » Rules

Subject: Economic Conditions Event rolling rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Adam Tucker
United States
Warren
Michigan
flag msg tools
A game is a series of decisions; a good game is a series of interesting decisions
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rails of New England Rules p.5 wrote:
Economic Condition cards may include the words Required Event or Event, and/or a die roll range for an event to occur. If present, resolve the event (or roll to see if it occurs).

The Start 1 Card has:
"Required Event
1-4"
Carriage return intentional

The Start 2 Card has:
"Required Event
1-6"
Carriage return intentional

The Start 3 cards all have:
"Required Event
Required Event 1-6"
Carriage return intentional


All the other (i.e., not-Start) Economic Condition cards that say "Required Event" have:
"Required Event
Event 1-X"
for some integer X > 1
Carriage return intentional

Does this mean that for the Start 1 card a die should be rolled, and if it is between 1 and 4 (inclusive), the first Required Event card "Second Bank of the U.S. is Chartered" is put into play, similarly for Start 2 with a roll between 1 and 6 (inclusive) putting the leftmost Required Event card into play, and then for Start 3 putting the leftmost Required Event card into play and then a roll between 1 and 6 (inclusive) would put the next leftmost Required Event card into play. If so, then that would mean that if you rolled and got events each of these turns, then with the second Required Event from the Start 3 card you would skip the 4th event (because it is a regular "Event" card and not a "Required Event" card), and place the 4th "Required Event" card "Sheep Boom Goes Bust" into play (because it would be the only "Required Event" remaining), and Period B would start right away on turn 3, correct?
Also, if this is how it is supposed to work, then would that mean that all the "not-Start" Economic Condition cards that say "Required Event" only place an Event into play if there is a "Required Event" left in the Event queue? Thus there would be no way to have two regular (i.e., not "Required Event"cards) Events hit on the same turn.

Alternative interpretation: every instance of "Required Event" means that an Event (any type of event) must be put in play. Would this mean that the Start cards are misprinted and should be:

The Start 1 Card should be:
"Required Event
Event 1-4"
Carriage return intentional
OR
The Start 1 Card should be:
"Event 1-4"

The Start 2 Card should be:
"Required Event
Event 1-6"
Carriage return intentional
OR
The Start 2 Card should be:
"Event 1-6"

The Start 3 cards all should be:
"Required Event
Required Event
Event 1-6"
Carriage return intentional
OR
The Start 3 cards all should be:
"Required Event
Event 1-6"
Carriage return intentional


Which is the proper method of interpreting these cards?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Walter Hunt
United States
Bellingham
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
tuckerotl wrote:
Rails of New England Rules p.5 wrote:
Economic Condition cards may include the words Required Event or Event, and/or a die roll range for an event to occur. If present, resolve the event (or roll to see if it occurs).

The Start 1 Card has:
"Required Event
1-4"
Carriage return intentional

The Start 2 Card has:
"Required Event
1-6"
Carriage return intentional

The Start 3 cards all have:
"Required Event
Required Event 1-6"
Carriage return intentional


All the other (i.e., not-Start) Economic Condition cards that say "Required Event" have:
"Required Event
Event 1-X"
for some integer X > 1
Carriage return intentional

Does this mean that for the Start 1 card a die should be rolled, and if it is between 1 and 4 (inclusive), the first Required Event card "Second Bank of the U.S. is Chartered" is put into play, similarly for Start 2 with a roll between 1 and 6 (inclusive) putting the leftmost Required Event card into play, and then for Start 3 putting the leftmost Required Event card into play and then a roll between 1 and 6 (inclusive) would put the next leftmost Required Event card into play.


That's what it means.

tuckerotl wrote:
If so, then that would mean that if you rolled and got events each of these turns, then with the second Required Event from the Start 3 card you would skip the 4th event (because it is a regular "Event" card and not a "Required Event" card), and place the 4th "Required Event" card "Sheep Boom Goes Bust" into play (because it would be the only "Required Event" remaining), and Period B would start right away on turn 3, correct?


Yes. It's possible. Turn 3 is the earliest possible start to Period B.

tuckerotl wrote:
Also, if this is how it is supposed to work, then would that mean that all the "not-Start" Economic Condition cards that say "Required Event" only place an Event into play if there is a "Required Event" left in the Event queue? Thus there would be no way to have two regular (i.e., not "Required Event"cards) Events hit on the same turn.


That is also true.

tuckerotl wrote:
Alternative interpretation: every instance of "Required Event" means that an Event (any type of event) must be put in play. Would this mean that the Start cards are misprinted and should be:


Nope; "Required Event" means "Required Event". Economic Condition cards have "Required Event" on them because, in some cases, the Required Events simply haven't occurred. If the die roll fails on Turns 1 and 2, and only the mandatory Required Event occurs on Turn 3, and the die simply doesn't generate a Required Event, it's possible to have Required Events still in the queue when the game transitions into Period B.

The Sheepocalypse, as it is fondly known, can occur after the game has gotten into the land of Shoes and Textiles (i.e., Period B).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Tucker
United States
Warren
Michigan
flag msg tools
A game is a series of decisions; a good game is a series of interesting decisions
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
hotc wrote:
Nope; "Required Event" means "Required Event". Economic Condition cards have "Required Event" on them because, in some cases, the Required Events simply haven't occurred. If the die roll fails on Turns 1 and 2, and only the mandatory Required Event occurs on Turn 3, and the die simply doesn't generate a Required Event, it's possible to have Required Events still in the queue when the game transitions into Period B.

The Sheepocalypse, as it is fondly known, can occur after the game has gotten into the land of Shoes and Textiles (i.e., Period B).

Does this conversely mean that "Event" only means "Event" and you would skip any "Required Events" in the queue?
Or does "Event" mean either "Event" or "Required Event", whatever is next in the queue?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Walter Hunt
United States
Bellingham
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
tuckerotl wrote:

Does this conversely mean that "Event" only means "Event" and you would skip any "Required Events" in the queue?
Or does "Event" mean either "Event" or "Required Event", whatever is next in the queue?


Event means any Event. Required Event means only Required Events. (And that means it might pop not-the-next-event-in-the-queue.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Lajeunesse
France
Paris
Ile-de-France
flag msg tools
badge
Hihihi... Stop that, I'm ticklish !
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
And what about this case :
- The first (leftmost) event in line is a standard one.
- The second event is a required event (the number 5, of course)

The card says :
Required Event
Event 1-6

What should I do ?

And while I'm at it, is the use of the Hoosac tunnel free ?

Thanx ^^
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Tucker
United States
Warren
Michigan
flag msg tools
A game is a series of decisions; a good game is a series of interesting decisions
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Duncan wrote:
And what about this case :
- The first (leftmost) event in line is a standard one.
- The second event is a required event (the number 5, of course)

The card says :
Required Event
Event 1-6

What should I do ?

"Required Event" only targets Required Events (per Walter's ruling above). Thus for this card in these circumstances you would:
First resolve the leftmost Required Event "(the number 5, of course)".
Then roll to see if the leftmost event occurs.


Duncan wrote:
And while I'm at it, is the use of the Hoosac tunnel free ?

The Hoosac Tunnel State Subsidy, like the Lake Champlain Ferry and Connecticut River Canal and Steamship State Subsidies, is a one time effect that happens immediately upon being claimed. The Hoosac Tunnel is only different in that it costs $10 to claim it (and is worth more at game end). All State Subsidies remain with the player who claims them (and that is the only player that can "use" them) for the entirety of the game. For these three subsidies, their one and only "use" occurs the instant that their claimed and their only other effect is value at game end.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin B. Smith
United States
Mercer Island
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
hotc wrote:
tuckerotl wrote:
Does this conversely mean that "Event" only means "Event" and you would skip any "Required Events" in the queue?
Or does "Event" mean either "Event" or "Required Event", whatever is next in the queue?

Event means any Event. Required Event means only Required Events. (And that means it might pop not-the-next-event-in-the-queue.

If a Required Event is called for, and there are no Required Events left, then no event happens, right? (The wording in the rulebook is ambiguous as to whether "Required Event" is ignored, or just the "Required" part.) I also didn't see this clarified in the FAQ.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.