Hide
15 Posts

Dominion» Forums » Reviews

Subject: Dominion sets: the development of (the real) themes and mechanics rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tim Chen
msg tools
This review is written in conjunction with a review of the cornucopia cards. While firstly I only had the card review in mind, I found it more compelling if I go back to the earlier sets and write about their properties. Since I only started playing after Seaside, it is possible my point of view is fundamentally altered, despite I tried to imagine the situation without those sets. Here comes the body of the review:

We now have six sets (and counting) of Dominion boxes; with ~150 kingdom cards, it is already impossible for even a fanatic player to try out all the setups. People start to wonder, what is the purpose of more expansion sets? Is it just that game makers extracting out every bit of profit from a well-known brand, or is there actually more to the game, in the process of having more expansions?

From the forum I think there are supporters on both sides. Here, I am going to try to argue for the better, from looking back and see what each expansion brought to the game. As we know from the secret histories, each expansion carries a theme. What I am going to write about is not exactly the theme Donald mentioned as we shall see.

Dominion: Base set
theme/mechanics: fundamentals. Cursing, deck trimming, drawing.
the real theme/mechanics: Money.
Card of the set: Gold, Smithy

Some would say a game without expansion is in its pure form. Well, not quite for Dominion. With only the base set, one can rarely go above one Province per turn, and money is usually very important. One can actually go further and say that the base set is teaching us how to use (or buy) money as a starting point. My own feeling is that it is not only us who are are taught; so is the game designer. The game evolved since.

Dominion: Intrigue
theme/mechanics: choice, hybrid card types