Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Runewars» Forums » Rules

Subject: Responses to Blackmail rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dr. snowMan
Canada
Kitchener
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The attacker chooses not to play any start of battle tactics cards. He has 2.

The defender plays blackmail. In response, the attacker announces he will play Brilliant Maneuver (since it says he can play it on his turn ), then resolve blackmail by discarding his remaining tactics card.

Defender objects, saying if attacker wants to continue the attack, he has to discard cards now, before having a chance to play any.

Mayhem ensues. Ruling?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick G.
United States
Glenshaw
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Does your religion have lightsabers? Nope? Didn't think so.
badge
"A person is smart. People are dumb, panicky dangerous animals." Agent K. Oh my what he would think of people had he known about what the internet would become.....
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rules wrote:

3. Start of Battle Abilities: If the attacker has any Tactics cards
or other abilities that may be used at the “start of battle” or
during his turn, he must use them at this point if he is going
to do so. The defender then has the opportunity to use any
number of “start of battle” abilities and cards

Defender was sort of correct.

The attacker had already lost his chance to play ANY start of battle cards. By the attacker choosing not to play any he gave up that right according to the rules.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm with corkysru. But even were it not for that specific rule in the book, I would say that you can't do that. This isn't Magic: The Gathering; there are no card interrupts and stacks. You resolve one card, then resolve the next card. You can't interrupt a card to play something else.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dr. snowMan
Canada
Kitchener
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The defender really likes MtG. We talked about the card stack briefly, but was pretty sure there was no card stack in this game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There's not, but on the other hand there's really no need for one.

Since the rules do specify an order of "attacker, then defender", this situation is covered. And there really aren't any other situations where an interrupt like that could happen.


However, one thing to note; based on a recent ruling by the designer, Brilliant Maneuver cannot be played in battle; the active player must play it BEFORE the battle or AFTER the battle, but not DURING the battle (which would include Start of Battle Abilities).

For battle purposes, this would really only apply to the Conquer Order, but it does mean that you'd have to play it before you start the battle; once the battle starts, it's too late.

(This isn't specific to Brilliant Maneuver, but applies to ANY card; the ruling was that if a card doesn't specifically allow you to play it during battle, you can't do so, even if it's a "play during your turn" card).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
juan
Argentina
Ciudad Autónoma de Buenos Aires
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Once again i agree with Scott.....In board games you need to respect rules, and in games like this that you have a lot of rules that come and go against each other, at least you need to respect the order of play ALLWAYS, that solved a lot of problems
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.