Recommend
17 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Innovation: Echoes of the Past» Forums » Rules

Subject: Bonuses and Extra Achievements rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Cieslik
United States
Arlington
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Banana!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
With mere weeks until pre-orders start shipping out, it's time to talk about the last major mechanics to be revealed in the expansion!

Bonuses, like Echo effects, replace icons on a card. Take Scissors, for example:



Visible bonuses on your board give you extra points toward claiming achievements or for victory at the end of the game, but cannot be stolen from your score pile by cards such as Pirate Code. Specifically, your highest bonus counts and you get one additional point for each other bonus visible on your board.




Many bonus effects will use the value of a bonus to perform interesting effects. Bonus values are always within two of the card's age in this set. In the case of cards such as Chaturanga, having a high bonus could get you ahead in the tech race quickly!



The nine cards set aside to begin the game are no longer the only source of achievements! A handful of cards allow you to achieve cards from other locations, but are usually hard to accomplish. One additional rule now governs the claiming of achievements. If you already have an achievement for a given age and want to claim a second, you must have twice as many points (3x for a third, and so forth).

With the extra special achievements, and this new way to claim them, one additional achievement is required to win (7 for 2P, 6 for 3P, 5 for 4P or 5P)
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Smith
United States
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
lol at scissors. Is there a Rock card? Might need to make a new Paper card and add a dogma to score Rock.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Børge N
Norway
Porsgrunn
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
chucker101 wrote:
Is there a Rock card?
Yes, but definitively not in the age you expect it to be!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Maciej Welc
Poland
Wrocław (Vratislavia)
Lower Silesia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
borgemik wrote:
chucker101 wrote:
Is there a Rock card?
Yes, but definitively not in the age you expect it to be!

Does it Roll?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.