Ghost Stories» Forums » General

Subject: Advice for Teaching rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I've been playing Ghost Stories for a few months now. I want to introduce it to new players, and I think I've been doing a fairly good job since I got the game but would like some advice on how to do better. I make sure I know the rules backwards and forwards, have read the errata and gone to forums like this to clear up rules I don't know before I try to run a game which helps enormously--but while this helps me be more efficient, with Ghost Stories I always end up front loading the rule explanations.

One thing I love about Ghost Stories is how easy the rules are. There are a lot of them, but they make sense. The symbols are lovely and exceedingly clear, the components are well themed which also helps memory, and so forth. I've also read in various places (including on the Dice Tower) that this game can be taught fairly well as you play rather than up front.

The trouble is, due to the cooperative nature of the game, it feels to me as though a lot of the rules DO need to be front loaded or it will be hard for new gamers to get a grip on their surroundings as ghosts appear and have to be dealt with. I absolutely refuse to railroad new players into the decisions I think are best, as that isn't fun for them and I could always play single player. Keeping all of this in mind, how do I cut down on the front-heavy rules explanation for Ghost Stories? It hasn't been a problem in the past as people tend not to forget crucial rules (and the rules are easily refreshed as we go, so it's not too much of a problem if they do). But with a medium long game like Ghost Stories, I want to move things along as quickly as possible so that players don't get burnt out in their first session.

I would greatly appreciate your thoughts, comments and tips.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Massek
United States
Wisconsin