Samurai» Forums » General

Subject: "Samurai" as entry point into Medieval Japan warfare theme? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Konstantin Lubsky
Germany
München
flag msg tools

I've no experience with the GBoH-series so far and I am looking for a wargame on the Medieval Japan theme. So I would like to ask you, whether you would recommend the GBoH games "RAN" and "Samurai" or should I go for something else?

Thank you for your advice!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
武士に二言無し
Italy
Caravaggio near Bergamo near Milano
Europe + Earth + Via Lactea
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Konstantin,

I answer here for Ran too.

At tactical level, probably, they are not the best wargames about Medieval Japan, but the system works well and with a bit of application you will enjoy both.
Rules are well written and not so difficult to manage.

Samurai is different from Ran, because the second uses a different, in part, set of rules.

The only flaw, but very important: the battles treated in the two wargames are too historical, for a wargame, with the tendence to be unbalanced ... it's ok to play a historical battle with the historical losing side, but a more balanced scenario would be more interesting and playable.

All in all, they are, from my point of view, a 7 more or less!

F.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
武士に二言無し
Italy
Caravaggio near Bergamo near Milano
Europe + Earth + Via Lactea
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
The error here is: ok all GBOH are based on historical outcomes, but with SPQR + Modules, Alexander the Great + Modules, Caesar and Caesar: conquest of Gaul + Modules (These I have in my collection), EVERY scenario I have played is balanced or with a bit of bidding can be balanced; Samurai, but mostly Ran have scenarios unbalanced (ok as in real history) but without or with a little possibility to balance them with bidding too ...