David Lesouef
France
Ermont
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The 2nd Winnu's racial techno allow u to "recrut" 1 GF in Mecatol Rex if unocuppied or controled by u.
What happens if we are playing with Custodians of Mecatol Rex option? It's not a Distan Suns. Mecatol Rex is occupied? If not, what happens (destroy GF and Fighters)?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Slev Sleddeddan
United Kingdom
Victoria Park
Manchester
flag msg tools
What part of "Ph'nglui mglw'nafh Cthulhu R'lyeh wgah'nagl fhtagn" don't you understand?
badge
Don't you open that trapdoor!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Custodiens in situ mean the planet is occupied. Thus, you need for someone to kill off the Custodians first.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Williams
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
BITS FOR THE BITS GOD!
badge
Staring in dumbfounded terror at Frans Raynor's neckbeard.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm of the mindset that you can use it to get rid of the Custodians. Technically the Winnu ARE the custodians! The tech is also blatantly horrible otherwise.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Slev Sleddeddan
United Kingdom
Victoria Park
Manchester
flag msg tools
What part of "Ph'nglui mglw'nafh Cthulhu R'lyeh wgah'nagl fhtagn" don't you understand?
badge
Don't you open that trapdoor!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
IncrediSteve wrote:
I'm of the mindset that you can use it to get rid of the Custodians. Technically the Winnu ARE the custodians! The tech is also blatantly horrible otherwise.


However, the Winnu and the Winnarians are divorced and look down on each other...
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Lesouef
France
Ermont
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Slev wrote:
Custodiens in situ mean the planet is occupied. Thus, you need for someone to kill off the Custodians first.

So, this racial technology is unplayable with this option (5 ressources for that...).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grímur Zimsen
Iceland
Reykjavík
Gerðin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Slev wrote:
Custodiens in situ mean the planet is occupied. Thus, you need for someone to kill off the Custodians first.

Aren't the custodians supposed to be treated as a distant suns counter, in which case they would be removed, just like when you claim a planet without planetary landing?
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Madsen
United States
Kearns
Utah
flag msg tools
Trains!
badge
Houseplant?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
LAZAX GATE FOLDING wrote:
Cost: 4 Reasources

At the start of each Status Phase, you may place 1 Ground Force on Mecatol Rex.

You may only do this if the planet is uncontrolled or is under your control.

(Discard any Domain Counters on the planet).
TI3 {Page 33} Game Option: Distant Suns wrote:
... (do not place Domain Counters on any Home System planets or on Mecatol Rex). ...
TI3 {Page 33} The Domain Counters wrote:
* If a player comes to control a planet without actually landing forces there during a Tactical Action, the Domain Counter is ignored and placed back in the box with no effect.
TI3 FAQ 2.2.1 {Page 4} The Distant Suns Option wrote:
Q: What happens if I use "Voluntary Annexation" Action Card on a planet with a Distant Suns token on it?
A: The token is immediately removed, without taking effect.
TI3 SE {Page 11} Option 13: Custodians of Mecatol Rex wrote:
... The specific rules for encountering these tokens are the same as their Domain token counterparts and can be found on the back of this rulebook.

... If playing with Distant Suns with this option, do not place a Domain token on Mecatol Rex.
TI3 SE FAQ 2.2.1 {Page [11]} Miscellaneous wrote:
Q: What happens if I use "Voluntary Annexation" Action Card to annex Mecatol Rex when playing with the Custodians of Mecatol Rex option?
A: The token is immediately removed.
Distant Suns & Custodians of Mecatol Rex are both considered Domain Counters.
10 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Petersen
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
So combo that with Multiculturalism on Arborec to build a DN on MR while you move in your fleet to defend your free planet?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lyn Fox
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
This user will support the website in the future.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Like Arcadious said, the Custodians count as Domain Counters and thus Lazax Gate Folding would removed they.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just note, with Lazax Gate folding, you have to be careful who's nearby. The 3 Fighter/2 Ground Force combo is enough to keep most races off it until they have enough to make a reasonable commitment to taking it. A single Ground Force, though, would be a lot less daunting, and so if a Winnu player took Mecatol in this way, it would make it that much easier for another player to grab it from them than it would have been to seize it from the custodians.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Lesouef
France
Ermont
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
sigmazero13 wrote:
Just note, with Lazax Gate folding, you have to be careful who's nearby. The 3 Fighter/2 Ground Force combo is enough to keep most races off it until they have enough to make a reasonable commitment to taking it. A single Ground Force, though, would be a lot less daunting, and so if a Winnu player took Mecatol in this way, it would make it that much easier for another player to grab it from them than it would have been to seize it from the custodians.

Yes! That why you take Diplo II!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
judograal wrote:
sigmazero13 wrote:
Just note, with Lazax Gate folding, you have to be careful who's nearby. The 3 Fighter/2 Ground Force combo is enough to keep most races off it until they have enough to make a reasonable commitment to taking it. A single Ground Force, though, would be a lot less daunting, and so if a Winnu player took Mecatol in this way, it would make it that much easier for another player to grab it from them than it would have been to seize it from the custodians.

Yes! That why you take Diplo II!

Assuming that someone else doesn't take #1, or has an Unexpected Action. And hope that someone else doesn't take it first just to keep it out of your hands.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Beck
United States
Beavercreek
Ohio
flag msg tools
The Electronic Eremite
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I found out this weekend how nice it was, as the Arborec, to have a racial power that the Winnu have to PAY for to get...

Nothing like 4-5 GFs with Gen Sythesis on Mecatol Rex to help you keep it nearly the whole game!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Petersen
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
Even more so with Dacxive: "Oh, you thought 6 vs 7 was a good idea thanks to Bombardment? Next time it'll be x vs 10!" Hehe anytime I play as Sol or Arborec I try to get both those techs, as well as Hypermetabolism (resources and Objectives allowing). As L1z1x I might consider skipping around the tech tree to get X-89 as well as Dacxive. Nuke, rez, repeat. Too bad you'd need one surviving DN per planet.

Also, you have to pay for the racial tech to grab MR. Your racial ability is equivalent to their racial tech, if in one instance they control MR, and in the other instance, you control MR and continue to choose to place 1 free GF on MR. Your racial tech and ability is a heck of a lot less restrictive.

The best time to start using this tech is when you are sure to go first and have a sizable fleet to move in there. With SE cards, when you are the speaker. In the base game, your right neighbor had 1 last round. In any game, when you have First Strike and don't expect anyone to use a Sabotage.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fedor Syagin
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From latest FAQ:
Q: If Winnu use Lazax Gate Folding to place 1 Ground Force
on Mecatol Rex when it is uncontrolled, does the player gain
control of the planet? What happens to the Custodians?
A: Yes. In addition, Custodians are discarded.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.