Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

A Game of Thrones (first edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Use of House Cards and the Steel Blade rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ho hd
Malaysia
flag msg tools
18xx, Go and Puerto Rico Rocks!!!
badge
Go is a great game. Let's play Go!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,

During the combat sequence, both players MUST play a card right? Can a player refrain from playing a card?

Also, to clarify, the player may use the additional combat strength of the Steel Blade AFTER he knows the total strength from all troops, support and house cards right? And it may only be used once per turn, i.e., if he used it now, he cannot use it until after the next Westeros phase right?

Many thanks in advance.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
You must play a card if in combat. So there is an element of bluffing. Or you can cast away a "useless" card if you know you lost anyway. But you may still use a card for the fortifications on defense if you think you may have lost.

The Blade is added after you know the outcome. And it can only be used for its +1 combat modifier once per turn. However, it still breaks ties as long as you have it. (Or more properly, your position on the track breaks ties but if you have the blade, you are at the top and so will always have ties in your favor).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ho hd
Malaysia
flag msg tools
18xx, Go and Puerto Rico Rocks!!!
badge
Go is a great game. Let's play Go!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Many thanks Brian!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.