Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Ascending Empires» Forums » Rules

Subject: Two questions about ramming... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mike Ricotta
Japan
Okinawa
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Perhaps I missed these in the old rules...

1) If someone with pink lvl 4 rams someone with pink lvl 2 does the lvl 4 player get 1 VP and the lvl 2 person 2? Sort of makes pink lvl 4 seem crappy...

2) The battle ship handles ramming the same way as a starship?

Bonus non-ramming question

You can't volintarily destroy a research lab can you?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Tesser
United States
Miami
Florida
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No you cannot destroy cities, research centers etc... on the planets.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Cooper
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
If someone with pink lvl 4 rams someone with pink lvl 2 does the lvl 4 player get 1 VP and the lvl 2 person 2?


Yes.

Quote:
The battle ship handles ramming the same way as a starship?


A single starship can ram a battleship. Both ships will be destroyed.

Quote:
You can't volintarily destroy a research lab can you?


No. You cannot destroy your own structures.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Todd
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So the bonus powers given through research are not cumulative? A level 2 pink has advantages over a level 4? Sounds strange.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Sampson
United States
Bothell
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Lvl 4 pink is only crappy if everyone else has lvl 2 pink which is highly unlikely considering you have lvl 4. Also when people have lvl 2, you know it anyway so you always avoid those people, and it just means they aren't easy points when you get lvl 4.

I am just curious, but those of you confused, have you actually played the game? The tech tree makes sense when you actually play the game.

Todd, the tech is cumulative, but that doesn't affect come into play in this question. Lvl 4 gives you a point for ramming whereas lvl 2 is a defensive tech that gives you 2 points for getting rammed. The techs are not reversed, it just means if you have lvl 2, you are safe from lvl 4 ramming tactics.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chester
United States
Temple
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ras2124 wrote:
Lvl 4 pink is only crappy if everyone else has lvl 2 pink which is highly unlikely considering you have lvl 4. Also when people have lvl 2, you know it anyway so you always avoid those people, and it just means they aren't easy points when you get lvl 4.

I am just curious, but those of you confused, have you actually played the game? The tech tree makes sense when you actually play the game.

Todd, the tech is cumulative, but that doesn't affect come into play in this question. Lvl 4 gives you a point for ramming whereas lvl 2 is a defensive tech that gives you 2 points for getting rammed. The techs are not reversed, it just means if you have lvl 2, you are safe from lvl 4 ramming tactics.


There are only so many pink planets. If you're using at least 3 of them to develop level 4 tech, there will be a couple players who probably weren't able to get level 2. Its more of a strategic question. If you want to plan to get points by ramming, you probably also want to attack people trying to settle on other pink planets to prevent them developing that defensive technology.

The game requires some forethought and decision-making...not all knee-jerk automatic choices.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Ricotta
Japan
Okinawa
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I've only played two player twice. Both times we both got pink lvl 2. It just seemed to good not to...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Webster
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Oh, it is very good to get pink level 2. The board set up, or game play just doesn't always allow that. :(
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.