Recommend
7 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

The Awful Green Things From Outer Space» Forums » Rules

Subject: Combat - Equal to or Greater than Constitution rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kevin Salch
United States
Bristol
Connecticut
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,

So it says on Page 5 Sequence of Play Section 3. Attack

Quote:
if the amount rolled equals or exceeds the constitution of the crewman attacked,the crewman is dead (removed from play). If an attack fails to kill its target, there is no effect.


And then on page 6 Attacks

Quote:
If the total score rolled against an enemy piece is greater than its constitution, it is dead!


Which is it to kill? Greater that OR Greater than or Equal too.
The Jet Suit with a constitution of 20 will be destroyed and any hits over 20 are applied to its occupant. (also the Cargo Mover)
This indicates to me that it should be greater than or equal to.

Also a follow-up.
I also assume that ook soot takes 16 hits to kill both the ook and the ook soot.
Is it possible to destroy just the Oook Soot? ( I assume not)

Kevin
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John "Omega" Williams
United States
Kentwood
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The pg 6 entry is a typo. Twice at least in the rest of the rules it reads "equals or exceeds."

Not sure on the soot. I'll look over the entries and see if any clues turn up.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John "Omega" Williams
United States
Kentwood
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok. The Ook Soot is essentially an enhanced pressure suit. In this case it doubles the Ooks CON rather than acting as ablative armour as the Mover and Jet Suit do.

So Mover and Jet, if its destroyed in an attack then the excess damage is applied to the pilot. If the excess =/exceeds the pilots CON then they are taken out as well.
The Soot though is just enhancing the Ook and if the damage destroys it that means the Ook is done for.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan Hanson
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
costguy wrote:

Is it possible to destroy just the Oook Soot? ( I assume not)

The rules say, "The monsters may not attack the soot while it is empty."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bob Roberts

Unspecified
msg tools
Avatar
costguy wrote:
Hi,

So it says on Page 5 Sequence of Play Section 3. Attack

Quote:
if the amount rolled equals or exceeds the constitution of the crewman attacked,the crewman is dead (removed from play). If an attack fails to kill its target, there is no effect.


And then on page 6 Attacks

Quote:
If the total score rolled against an enemy piece is greater than its constitution, it is dead!





Same thing in the 7th edition rules. I don't have my old TSR edition anymore to check there, but I'm pretty sure we always played equal or exceed.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John "Omega" Williams
United States
Kentwood
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The original TSR rules say equal or greater.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.