Popular Tags: [View All]
Craig Duncan
United States
Ithaca
New York
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm fairly new to Tichu and I've been trying to figure out decent Mah Jong wish strategy, e.g. in the following post:

http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/6971500#6971500

That post suggested some types of play. In order to get a sense of how frequent these plays are among Tichu players, I have created the following poll. (This is my first stab ever at making a BGG poll; I hope the questions are worded clearly enough to make sense!)

This poll assumes clockwise play, and it assumes you have been dealt the Mah Jong card.

Of course, Tichu is very situational, so it will be hard to answer the poll without thinking to yourself "Well, it depends on X, or it depends on Y,...." But take the poll with a grain of salt and try answering anyway! I'm not sure we'll end up with anything useful, but it can't hurt to try!

Poll: How do you use the Mah Jong card?
1. I wish for the card that I passed to my left-hand opponent
always
almost always
usually
about as often as not
occasionally
almost never
never
2. I open the round by leading with the Mah Jong card
always
almost always
usually
about as often as not
occasionally
almost never
never
3. When I play the Mah Jong in a straight, I will wish for a card
always
almost always
usually
about as often as not
occasionally
almost never
never
4. I will pass the Mah Jong card to my partner
always
almost always
usually
about as often as not
occasionally
almost never
never
5. I will wish for a mid-range card (e.g. a 6, a 7, ...) in the hope of breaking up a straight that my opponent might have
always
almost always
usually
about as often as not
occasionally
almost never
never
6. If my left-hand opponent has called Grand Tichu (or has called regular Tichu before I play the Mah Jong card), then I will wish for an Ace
always
almost always
usually
about as often as not
occasionally
almost never
never