Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Small World Underground» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can the Balrog take itself out? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Richard Ham
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
CLICK THIS BEAGLE if you're looking for in-depth gameplay video run-throughs! :)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you moved the Balrog onto the space where the Pentacle is, would you effectively take the Balrog out of the game, as no one else could claim it? Same question for the Tomb Raider ghost if you move out after putting her on the crypt?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Thornsen
United States
Nottingham
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules for the Crypt explicitly disallow putting the ghost into the Crypt's region.

The Crypt of the Tomb-raider wrote:
At the end of his turn, the player's whose troops
occupy the Region containing the Crypt of the
Tomb-raider places its Ghost in any Region, except
the one containing the Crypt
, to make it immune.
A player whose troops are In Decline in the Tombraider’s
Crypt can no longer move the Ghost, but the Region
containing the Ghost remains immune. When a
player conquers the Crypt, the Ghost immediately
leaves the Region it was protecting, and falls under
the control of the conquering player.


There is no such clause for the Balrog, so I would guess that the move is legal and you can get the Balrog stuck inside the region with the Pentacle.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Ham
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
CLICK THIS BEAGLE if you're looking for in-depth gameplay video run-throughs! :)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
that's what we figured. a guy with immortal flames did exactly this since it seemed that the balrog (see the balrog/immortality thread) was the only way we could slow him down. so he took that option off the table
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bart
Poland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't know why someone would want Balrog to be stuck? It makes no sense to me.
Besides, where it is written that he would be stuck after being moved onto the pentacle region?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Ham
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
CLICK THIS BEAGLE if you're looking for in-depth gameplay video run-throughs! :)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Once it's on the pentacle region, no one can conquer that space to take control of him, so he's effectively out of the game.

In our game, the guy with immortal flames did it because without the balrog on the table, we literally could not hurt him at all.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
michael ray
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Even with immortal, it should have cost him at least 1 flame tokens (depending on how many he had left in the pentacle region) to move the balrog onto himself.

So, that puts him at 6-7 max flames, which, if you wipe out his in-decline race, is only going to get him 3-4 coins a turn if you keep on nipping at him.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Ham
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
CLICK THIS BEAGLE if you're looking for in-depth gameplay video run-throughs! :)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yup, he lost one to take out the balrog, but he kept us on our toes for awhile after that. He ultimately didn't win (held on to the flames too long) but it was a fun game in the meantime. It was basically a case of none of us wanting to realize the huge losses he could bring, so he had us psyched out for awhile
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mateusz Kominiarczuk
Poland
Warsaw
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Official FAQ has been uptaded! Seems we've been wrong: Immortals and Elves do NOT lose any tokens due to Balrog's conquests. Forgot to ask about the "Balrog in the Pentacle", but it seems to funny to rule-out. Happened in my last 1:1 game, also with Flames (not Immortal, though). Eventually, the player who made that suicidal move won.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.