Doctor Who: Solitaire Story Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Doctor Who: Solitaire Story Game for Dummies? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jim Squires
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
I'm a huge fan of The Doctor, and I really think I could enjoy this once I got the hang of things, but as it stands, I've just tried my first adventure and felt completely lost right from the get go.

I was able to get as far as creating my Doctor, rolling to determine my adventure, and then... I had no idea what to do. The adventure entries all have 6 categories -- do I roll them all at once? And if so/not, what then?

My apologies for the noobish nature of my question. This is my first time trying this sort of game and I feel completely stumped. If anyone could maybe direct me to a step-by-step sample adventure just so I can see how it's done, that would be outstanding.

Thanks in advance for any and all help!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Piotr
Poland
flag msg tools
http://boardgamegeek.com/filepage/52175/example-of-play here you've got an example of play, nicely written and very helpful.

To start, you may check the files section and find some help sheets (sheet with actions listed is very helpful, I printed it and wrote some more information on it and I don't think I'll be playing without it - http://boardgamegeek.com/filepage/63122/action-reference-she..., there are some more good files here so try to find them and check whether you find them helpful or not).

Generally, when you've chosen the adventure, each turn consists of action and encounter. First you perform an action (Explore, Investigate etc.) - check the sheet I recommended - in most cases you roll 2 dice adding bonuses from listed traits and check the outcome. Later when you acquire some Allies or Companions you may split your group and have different groups performing different (or the same) actions in one turn.