Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gary Pressler
United States
West Lafayette
Indiana
flag msg tools
designer
OMG! Overtext! How long have I been sleeping?! OVERTEXT! Also, I'm a DESIGNER now?! Sweet! OVERTEXXXXXXT!
badge
HO HO HO! Give me some money!
mbmbmbmbmb
A very interesting idea.

I have become more and more enamored with co-op games lately. The soon arrival of our first kiddo is a big factor in that. I want to play games as a family. In going through the shelves, co-op Carcassonne was one that occurred to me, too.

My plan was that the "team" score would be the lowest of the individual scores. That way, players want to actively help each other complete features.

(However, that scoring might not work as well for Scrabble, where a significantly poorer speller might feel like they are holding the others back. Just have to be aware of sensitivities.)

As for trick-taking games, that would be tougher, but an interesting challenge. I very much prefer partnerships in such games (e.g., Spades or Tin Soldiers) for the sense of teamwork. Fully cooperative would be trickier.

One last side note, Onirim is card game for either solo or 2-player co-op. It is not trick-taking, but is a rather clever game of playing cards in helpful sequences.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Wallace
United States
Rochester
New York
flag msg tools
designer
badge
6th Circle Nethermancer in Service of the Queen!
mbmbmbmbmb
+1 to Onirim for co-op and kinda feeling a bit like you might want.... a great game solo as well!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andreas Pelikan
Austria
Vienna
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb