Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Thunderstone: Thornwood Siege» Forums » Rules

Subject: Power Word: Kill order of operations rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
D. Silberman
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmb
We just had our first game with Power Word: Kill in it last night and we played it as follows:

1) Being a Dungeon Effect spell and not an actual battle, the Power Word ignores monster attributes that would normally forbid you from attacking or defeating them. For example, the Bandit monsters from Dragonspire require a minimum number of heroes to be present in order to be defeated in battle. Power Word: Kill can defeat these bandits even though the active player does not have the required number of heroes.

2) All monster battle effects are resolved immediately after defeat by Power Word: Kill. Destroyed heroes, weapons, etc. do not stick around until the end of the active player's turn. The same goes for monster spoils: you collect them right after casting the Power Word and not at the end of your turn.

Does this sound right or are other people playing this card differently? It seems extremely powerful once you have a couple level 2 or 3 spellcasters in your deck. I'm thinking that maybe we should not have been able to defeat bandits with the Power Word unless we had the required heroes. Same goes for the good old Blink Dog from the base set; maybe Power Word can't defeat it unless you overcome the light penalty.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Edward Bolme
United States
Charlotte
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Zelide wrote:
1) Being a Dungeon Effect spell and not an actual battle, the Power Word ignores monster attributes that would normally forbid you from attacking or defeating them.


Since Power Word: Kill uses the word "defeat," it cannot bypass traits that prevent a monster from being defeated. Traits are always on, and always checked. It can bypass Battle effects that prevent defeat, since those haven't been resolved yet.

Zelide wrote:
2) All monster battle effects are resolved immediately after defeat by Power Word: Kill.


No, Battle effects are no used since a battle was never started. However, any traits that say "when defeated..." woudl still apply.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
D. Silberman
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmb
Thank you for the clarification. How about monster traits that prevent attack but don't use the word "defeat"? For example, can I use Power Word: Kill on a Blink Dog even if I don't have any light?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Edward Bolme
United States
Charlotte
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Power Word: Kill does not inititate an attack, so attack prevention does not have a chance to operate.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Shufeldt
United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
mbmb
Powerful card. This card is a "repeat" card, LOL. Just buy all 8 cards and take out several monsters each turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.