Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Hannibal: Rome vs. Carthage» Forums » Rules

Subject: Withdrawal from Battle? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Neil Henning
United States
Nutley
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So here is the situation:
Hannibal attacks from the west coast in Central Italy, realizes he stands a very good chance of losing after 5 BC's are played and decides to withdraw.
he wins the withdrawal role, Rome decides not to pursue as their cards are also less then optimal and Hannibal withdraws forward into a Cartheginian Capua.

My question is can you withdraw forward or do you need to withdraw in the same direction as you came?
And can you intercept on a withdrawal that takes you close to another general?

Thanks for the help.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pokey 64
United States
Niagara Falls
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My Avalon Hill 1996 rules say that the original attacker must withdraw to the space from which he advanced (Page 8, 11.11 Withdrawals).

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Volker Hirscher
Germany
Oftersheim
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Two quotes for you, taken from the VG rules:

1)
Quote:
If the original
attacker withdrawals, then he must withdraw to the
space from which he advanced.


2)
Quote:
You cannot Intercept an attempt to Avoid Battle (13.1), a
Withdrawal (16.), or a Retreat (15.), nor may you Intercept
an Interception.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.