aaron belmer
United States
Webster Groves
St Louis
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
-When teaching the game I've found it's easier to 'get' the last round scoring by going through a mock end-game scoring. Really helps to visualize the HUGE impact influence has on the board.

-Also, for new folks, when teaching, I highly recommend playing one 6 rounder first, before going to the 8 rounder.

-this game plays VERY different from 2 to 3 to 4 people. I like them all, but if I had to pick, I'd say I prefer with 3. 2 is also just a great 2'er game, and 4 feels like a full on area control war game in 25 minutes. Crazy how good this game is and how well is scales.

A few strategy tips. I'm by no means an expert, but some things I've gathered from multiple plays.

(1) Each placement, I'm either looking to scope out new land, or completely block off an opponents piece. But it's a trade off. If I claim large pockets of land early, I'm almost assured to lose some or all by end game. If I play 10-20 pieces early, then I lose their end game effectiveness. So generally (assuming an 8 rounder) I'm playing 30-60 for the first several rounds.

(2) Once the board has been set up a bit, then I look for where my opponent has blocked himself from placing, and try to find a nice pocket of land with an 80-90. I can't really stop an opponent from blocking me off, but I can watch what he's played, and can minimize it by watching where he can't play. I don't want to put my 'claim 3 movement fields' dude on a space just because it gets me 8 fields instead of 7 fields. I want to put it there because I may get less, but have a safer placement.