Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Tammany Hall» Forums » Rules

Subject: Political Favor Chips Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
wendigo song
United States
Claymont
Delaware
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Okay we were playing a game tonight and one player after the election had 2 green political favor chips because he did not mathematically did not need to bid them to win his wards in our four player game. We got into a debate about what was supposed to happen to them. he made the argument that he should be allowed to keep them because he did not use the favors. We all made the point that at the end of the turn if they are not used that they cannot be saved and must be returned. We all made our points and in the end we decided that they would be returned because the other 3 player would have played it differently if they had known they could do that. At the end of the game however we all wondering if we made a correct ruling on what is supposed to happen with political favor chips that are not used on election day and I was hoping that someone could make an official ruling.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Hoffman
United States
Cortlandt Manor
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules only specifically state that players lose favor chips they bid. I don't see anything about giving up unspent favor after an election.

Honestly, this had never occurred to me. Now I'm curious to see what the official word is.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Cappocchi
United States
Los Angeles
CA
flag msg tools
Arkham Horror, Amun Re, R-ECO, Ora Et Labora, Napoleonic Wars
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In this case the one player was right and the 3 others forced him to play wrong. Nothing in the rules says to discard unused favor chips after an election.

It can be strategically important to hang on to them - they break ties for the Mayor's Office, and there are VP bonuses for each color at the end of the game. A player who shrewdly guards his favor chips, spending only what is necessary, will have a better chance at these valuable bonuses - and he will deserve that advantage!
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Huter
United States
McCordsville
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Shameless Plug Alert

Playing the game at www.slothninja.com is a good way to learn the rules.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
doug eckhart
United States
INDIANAPOLIS
Indiana
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
You keep unused favors for future use.


3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pandasaurus Games
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
publisher
www.pandasaurusgames.com
badge
www.pandasaurusgames.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
harlemsushi wrote:
Okay we were playing a game tonight and one player after the election had 2 green political favor chips because he did not mathematically did not need to bid them to win his wards in our four player game. We got into a debate about what was supposed to happen to them. he made the argument that he should be allowed to keep them because he did not use the favors. We all made the point that at the end of the turn if they are not used that they cannot be saved and must be returned. We all made our points and in the end we decided that they would be returned because the other 3 player would have played it differently if they had known they could do that. At the end of the game however we all wondering if we made a correct ruling on what is supposed to happen with political favor chips that are not used on election day and I was hoping that someone could make an official ruling.


he was right, y'all were wrong. In fact, that would make the game pretty boring if you played the way y'all did. Throwing elections intentionally to hold favor chips for the next round is a great strategy.. especially in the year 3 elections.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.