Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

The Burning Blue» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rules question about late-reacting escorts rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Stimpson
United States
Westminster
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Situation:

Squadron is attacking raid with two bomber gruppen and escorts. Escort rolls 'late' reaction. Squadron attacks first bomber gruppe and survives without pancaking.

Question:

Does the late-reacting escort get to attack the squadron now, or does the squadron get to attack the second bomber gruppe (as he's entitled to do if he's not pancaking), and the escort only attacks after that?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randy C
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
Robert L Howard (Medal of Honor recipient)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Not sure of the answer but I can copy what I think is the controlling rule.

13.3.4 - Late. The escort arrives too late or fighters break through to the bombers. The attacking RAF unit rolls a combat against the bomber target. When this is complete the Luftwaffe player must select escort units to attack the RAF unit. The escorts roll to intercept. The RAF unit must now defend against the escort’s attack.

I see it includes some plural terms and some singular terms.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roger Taylor
United States
Unspecified
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In a Late reaction:

1. The RAF squadron attacks a bomber unit.

2. One or more escorting fighter units attack the squadron, Luftwaffe player's choice.

In my experience the Luftwaffe player always attacks with only one fighter unit. The slight increase in combat power provided by extra units is not worth the disruption incurred. Better to maintain fresh escorts if possible.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Stimpson
United States
Westminster
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think when the rule was written, the thought was that the raid only contained 1 bomber gruppe, so it would be squadron-attacks-bomber, escort-attacks-squadron. But my question was not so much about how many escorts could attack, but whether the squadron got a second bite of the cherry (with a second bomber unit) before being attacked.

It actually brings up another question: if the squadron pancakes after the attack on the bomber unit, can the escort break off its attack so as not to risk casualties and disruption to itself? (In practice, I believe the fighter gruppe(n) would have had a go at the RAF planes no matter what their condition; it was in the jager mentality).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Stimpson
United States
Westminster
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe the answer to my original question was more-or-less given on page 46 of the scenario book. This example of wing combat indicates that the escorts, drawing a fend off 2, attack squadrons after their fend-off combat, after the wing has made its first attack on the bombers, but before the wing gets to attack a second bomber gruppe.

Although my question concerned single-squadron attacks, I must assume it's the same procedure.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Neil Milne
Australia
Mudgee
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Assuming the RAF squadron attacked in either the RAF movement step or the Pursuit step the RAF squadron would then be attacked by the Luftwaffe escorts if it were able to avoid the single disruption required for it to pancake it could then attack the second bomber unit during the RAF combat step.

Any other Luftwaffe escorts not involved in the first reaction could then attack the surviving RAF squadron during the Luftwaffe combat step.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.