Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Race for the Galaxy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can one place down cards with the same names (same card) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Eric Chen
Canada
Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi all,

Say I already developed "Replicant Robots" (which gives me -2 to place world) can I develop another "Replicant Robots" to have a -4 for placing world? (there are 2 Replicant Robots in the deck).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Klinck
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, you can't.
11 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
László Horváth
Hungary
Veszprém
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No. There cannot be more than one card with the same name in your tableau.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Runar Dankel
Norway
Oslo
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Then there is an error in the way you can play RftG on http://www.boardgamearena.com/
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher B
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Don't know what the exact behaviour is on boardgamearena.com but note that there can be a card with the same name in one game in DIFFERENT tableaus.
There just can't be more than one card with the same name in the same tableau.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Laner wrote:
Then there is an error in the way you can play RftG on http://www.boardgamearena.com/
Also, if a card's being built to the same tableau twice, make sure it's not the case of building a dev to tableau like New Military Tactics; discarding it from tableau for the temp military; and then building another New Military Tactics now that the previous NMT is gone
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Runar Dankel
Norway
Oslo
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This was a case og "Replicator Robots" being played twice in the same players tableu.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Katrina
United States
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules under Development specifically say you can't duplicate a dev. card already in your tableau. We didn't find similar rules for settling.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Blum
United States
Wilmington
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
PezKat wrote:
The rules under Development specifically say you can't duplicate a dev. card already in your tableau. We didn't find similar rules for settling.


There are no duplicate worlds so there's no need for such a rule. (There are worlds which have the same cost and abilities, but they have different names.)
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
tool wrote:
PezKat wrote:
The rules under Development specifically say you can't duplicate a dev. card already in your tableau. We didn't find similar rules for settling.


There are no duplicate worlds so there's no need for such a rule. (There are worlds which have the same cost and abilities, but they have different names.)
Also why this is a moot issue in Roll For The Galaxy
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.