When the Armour (cattle company) private closes due to phase change, does the owning corporation retain the "closed" token and still have the ability to change a token on the board from "open" to "closed"?
The rules state that tokens remain after the privates close, until the following phase change. I THINK this is meant to only apply to the bridge discount tokens, but the rules left me unsure.
I know that the private is closed if the "closed" token is placed, but does an unused token also disappear with the private?
Or, if a corporation owns but has not yet placed either cattle token, is it still able to retain and place them after the private closes due to a phase change?
All tokens from the privates remain in play. This means that the open token from the Armour Co. private could be exchanged for the closed token after the private has left the game. In Section 2 Game Phases it states that:
Phase 5: the first 5/7-train purchase
• All private companies close (tokens remain)
• Yellow, green, and brown tiles are available
• Off-Map areas are worth the brown value
• Local Railway Corporations become available
Phase 6: the first 6/8-train purchase
• 3+3-trains rust
• All private company tokens are removed
• 4D-trains are available
• Corporations may own at most 2 trains
. Hopefully this helps clarify the situation that you encountered. Thanks for playing, I hope you are enjoying 18NEB!