Popular Tags: [View All]
Dan
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
This is my first time posting on BGG, so I thought that I would introduce myself by throwing out a weird method that I use when deciding to buy... anything.

Do any of you ever ever hold off buying a new board game until your previous board game has had enough plays on it?

I recently bought Agricola (a board game that I wanted for almost a year since I first laid my eyes on it on BGG), but only decided to purchase it after playing my copy of Settlers of Catan 40-50 times over the past year.

I tend to break down the 'initial' purchase price into $/play, and play enough times until I hit a low cost per play (e.g. I bought Settlers for around $40, after playing it 40 times, its about $1 per game). That way, I can mimic and compare the cost per play against just renting the board game.

Am I the only one weird enough to hold out like this? Or do you succumb to your temptations of purchasing a new board game?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim
United States
San Antonio
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
There's certainly nothing wrong with getting the most out of your money and making wise buying decisions... Though I suspect sooner or later you'll buy a game that you can't possibly imagine playing 40-50 times (or even 4-5 times) and you'll be forced to come up with some new justification (which might be as simple as selling or trading away the unwanted game).

Unfortunately, not many games have the staying power of Settlers.

Best of luck!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Debije
Netherlands
Eindhoven
The Netherlands
flag msg tools
number of plays has no influence on my future buying decisions.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dennis Bingham
Germany
Herford
NRW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
mi_de wrote:
number of plays has no influence on my future buying decisions.

Same here.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Er
Singapore
Singapore