Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Magic: The Gathering» Forums » Rules

Subject: Willbender: can change multiple targets? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Eric O. LEBIGOT
France
Versailles
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The text of Willbender

reads
Quote:
When Willbender is turned face up, change the target of target spell or ability with a single target.
Does this imply that the target spell must only have a single target? If the target spell can have multiple targets, I guess that Willbender can only change one of them, right (instead of all of them with a single target)?

I could not find any information on this on the official Magic forums.
shake
So, any information would be much appreciated.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cyrus the Great
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
"With a single target" modifies "target spell or ability" so it might be more clearly read as:
When (Willbender is turned face up,) change (the target of target spell or ability with a single target.).
So you could change the target of a Fireball that targeted just one creature or player, but none of the targets of a Fireball that targeted multiple creatures or players.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wesley Kinslow
United States
Piperton
Tennessee
flag msg tools
↳ Do one brain damage ↳ Do one brain damage ↳ End the run
badge
Real heroes wear pink.
Avatar
mb
Yes, the spell being redirected must have only one target - if the spell/ability targets multiples then it will not affect the spell/ability.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Thompson
United States
Homewood
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
"...with a single target"

Seems pretty definitive. If you don't qualify for ALL the requirements, then the target is illegal.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric O. LEBIGOT
France
Versailles
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Tompy wrote:
"...with a single target"

Seems pretty definitive.

Indeed. The original question is actually about "the target", in "change the target of target spell or ability with a single target": I was basically asking whether "the target of target spell or ability" covered spells or abilities with multiple targets (that could be changed to point to, indeed, a "single target"), as if "the target" could have been written "change the target(s) of target spell…".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derry Salewski
United States
Augusta
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
I'm only happy when it rains...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Willbender can only target a spell or ability if that spell or ability has a single target, as stated on the card. The wording is slightly confusing though (not to someone who knows the rulebook back and forth, but commonly used English could read 'with a single target' as 'a new target,' though that's not really correct either.)

For an explanation of how changing a single target of a spell with multiple targets works, look up the rulings for Spellskite!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.