Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Battles of Westeros» Forums » Rules

Subject: Do tree archers hit on valor dice? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Malcolm King
Australia
Mount Hawthorn
Western Australia
flag msg tools
http://waboardgamers.org.au/
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Do the tree archers in the 5th scenario (Whispering Wood) hit on a single valor dice roll?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian McCarthy
United States
Milwaukee
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe ranged attacks never hit on valor results.

***Edit*** This is incorrect. The designer clarified that Dogs of War do indeed hit on valor results during their second roll after activating their ranged attack, so that makes them more deadly than I knew.

However, the designer's answer to the question was that Tree Archers do not score hits on valor results.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tarus .
Spain
Legan├ęs
flag msg tools
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Actually they do.

Longbowmen do hit with valor results, and the Stark's wardogs too. Archers and Crossbowmen, however, do not.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Selon Thart
Germany
Frankfurt
flag msg tools
Longbowmen do not hit on valor results.

War Dogs are open for speculation, as there is neither official evidence for or against it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian McCarthy
United States
Milwaukee
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Kalaidos wrote:
Longbowmen do not hit on valor results.

War Dogs are open for speculation, as there is neither official evidence for or against it.


Yeah, I thought that there was clarification on Dogs, but I can't find it, so I sent an official inquiry.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian McCarthy
United States
Milwaukee
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
KenToad wrote:
Kalaidos wrote:
Longbowmen do not hit on valor results.

War Dogs are open for speculation, as there is neither official evidence for or against it.


Yeah, I thought that there was clarification on Dogs, but I can't find it, so I sent an official inquiry.


Interesting. According to Rob Kouba, Dogs do score hits on valor results while doing their ranged attack.

Here is the quote:

Quote:
Greetings Ian,

I am guessing you are talking about the second roll.

Yes. You can tell because the kennelmasters do not have a symbol (like
core set archers) indicating that they do not hit on valor symbols.

Thanks,

FFG


On Sep 5, 2011, at 3:10 PM, wrote:

> Message from:
> Ian McCarthy
>
>
> E-mail:
> mccartian@yahoo.com
>
>
> Rule Question:
> Do Stark Dogs of War hit on valor symbols on the dice when
> activating their ranged attack?
>
> Thanks in advance.
>
> Ian

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Selon Thart
Germany
Frankfurt
flag msg tools
Thank you for contacting Rob with this matter, Ian.

I suppose the fact that archers do no hit on valor symbols is due to less accuracy when firing a ranged attack. Since the dogs themselves attack in close combat (once they've reached their target), I suppose they are not restricted by the ranged accuracy issue, but rather by their unreliability, for which the first die roll is for.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.