Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
15 Posts

Dominion» Forums » Rules

Subject: What happens when I combine throne room with kings court and an action card? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tor Øksendal
Norway
Oslo
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
What happens when I combine throne room with kings court and an action card?

Do you play the action card six times?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
enfynet enfynet
msg tools
mb
No. Keep in mind that Throne Room and Kings Court are also action cards. You play the card as instructed completely.

Action: Throne Room (choose an action card: kings court.)

Now you've been instructed to play the choose action twice:
1. Kings Court (choose an action card: Action-A)

Now you've been instructed to play that card 3 times:
a. Play Action-A & resolve
b. Play Action-A & resolve
c. Play Action-A & resolve

Still haven't completed Throne Room:
2. Kings Court (choose Action-B)

a. Action-B & resolve
b. Action-B & resolve
c. Action-B & resolve

You have now completed your Kings court #2 and your Throne Room. Notice you need two seperate actions in this scenario. If you had played the Kings Court first, you would play 3 actions twice each.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Brendel
United States
Dunwoody
Georgia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No. You will play King's Court twice. The first time you resolve it, you can play whatever the other action card is three times. The second time you resolve it, that card will no longer be in your hand, so you can't play it again. If you have other actions in your hand (including any that you drew as a result of the previous card) you can play one of them, again three times.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Wolfe
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
Zendo fan, Columbus Blue Jackets fan, Dominion Fan.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you play Throne Room, then King's Court:
First, you may choose an Action card and play it three times.
Then, you may choose an Action card and play it three times.

If you play King's Court, then Throne Room:
First, choose an Action card and play it twice.
Then, choose an Action card and play it twice.
And finally, choose an Action card and play it twice.

Each Action card you choose must come from your hand, so you can't choose the same Action card after you've already played it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Whitney Barnes

California
msg tools
jeffwolfe wrote:
If you play Throne Room, then King's Court:
First, you may choose an Action card and play it three times.
Then, you may choose an Action card and play it three times.

If you play King's Court, then Throne Room:
First, choose an Action card and play it twice.
Then, choose an Action card and play it twice.
And finally, choose an Action card and play it twice.

Each Action card you choose must come from your hand, so you can't choose the same Action card after you've already played it.


Notice that JeffWolfe used "may choose" in the first case (TR-KC) and just "choose" in the second case (KC-TR). King's Court gives you the option to not play an action card at all, while Throne Room compels you to play an action card twice if you have at least one action card.

Once on isotropic, I saw a player get stuck in a bad KC-TR cycle that drew him 2 Provinces, 1 gold and 1 Trading Post. Not a pretty picture as the Trading Post was forced to be played - twice, trashing three good cards into one silver.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tor Øksendal
Norway
Oslo
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
okay, thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Garry Rice
United States
Perkasie
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
swbarnes2 wrote:

Notice that JeffWolfe used "may choose" in the first case (TR-KC) and just "choose" in the second case (KC-TR). King's Court gives you the option to not play an action card at all, while Throne Room compels you to play an action card twice if you have at least one action card.

Once on isotropic, I saw a player get stuck in a bad KC-TR cycle that drew him 2 Provinces, 1 gold and 1 Trading Post. Not a pretty picture as the Trading Post was forced to be played - twice, trashing three good cards into one silver.


OUCH! I don't think I've ever played a game with both KC-TR, and I'm not sure I would have thought of the possible negative ramifications depending on what action cards you have in your deck...shake
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Hutnik
United States
Albany
New York
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
moons wrote:
What happens when I combine throne room with kings court and an action card?

Do you play the action card six times?


I thought that was supposed to be Dominion's version of Division by Zero:


1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
I Q
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe the nasty version is King's Court on King's Court on 3 separate Possession cards to get 9 extra turns directing your opponent's cards.

Of course, you have to have those cards in hand, which is not easy.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
Glory to Rome!
badge
"Let each man pass his days in that wherein his skill is greatest" Propertius Sextus
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
particle_man wrote:
I believe the nasty version is King's Court on King's Court on 3 separate Possession cards to get 9 extra turns directing your opponent's cards.

Of course, you have to have those cards in hand, which is not easy.

I think 2xKings Court, 3xBridge is less annoying, but stronger.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
enfynet enfynet
msg tools
mb
darthnice wrote:
particle_man wrote:
I believe the nasty version is King's Court on King's Court on 3 separate Possession cards to get 9 extra turns directing your opponent's cards.

Of course, you have to have those cards in hand, which is not easy.

I think 2xKings Court, 3xBridge is less annoying, but stronger.

And easier to acquire.

^^Those divide by zero captions are great!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Judd
United States
Wright City
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
jeffwolfe wrote:
If you play Throne Room, then King's Court:
First, you may choose an Action card and play it three times.
Then, you may choose an Action card and play it three times.

If you play King's Court, then Throne Room:
First, choose an Action card and play it twice.
Then, choose an Action card and play it twice.
And finally, choose an Action card and play it twice.

Each Action card you choose must come from your hand, so you can't choose the same Action card after you've already played it.

But it is also important to note that both action cards do not have to be in your hand when you initially play Throne Room and then King's Court - only the first one does. If that first King's Courted action allows you to draw cards, you can then use the second instance of King's Court on an action card that you just drew.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Max A
Canada
flag msg tools
This helped out slot thanks guys!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Hutnik
United States
Albany
New York
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
enfynet wrote:

^^Those divide by zero captions are great!


I saw this thread and went looking for the first one, but then found the Spock one and though that it would be good to add also.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.