Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

BattleLore» Forums » Rules

Subject: batleback with halberd and spearmen rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Sebastian G.
United States
St. Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Scenario: Homebrewed. We each started with 4 blue banner swordsmen,2 archers, 2 blue and 1 red cavalry. We each got to choose three specialist cards from a pool of eight cards. We placed our troops wherever we wanted in the first three rows of our respective sides. Medieval Lore rules observed.

Problem: Battle back from a landmark, forest, hill etc. Does the halberdier get his bonus die when battling back from a landmark hex. Bringing him to 3 die?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Cavaliere
United States
Littleton
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sebastian,

In short to answer your question the Halbredier would not get +1. Terrain such as a forest would make a maximum of 2d in or out. There may be some other factors to consider in your battle so....

Here's a great way to look at modifiers:

1. Unit dice (including weapon)
2. Terrain modifiers
3. Tactic card modifiers
4. Lore card modifiers

So in other words,

1. Take the unit's # of dice it uses without restrictions
2. Use terrain modifiers (ie. 2d in/out of forest)
3. Add tactic card modifiers (ie. +1d for Leadership)
4. Add Lore card modifiers (ie. +1d for Mass Might)

For example with all of the above in play, it would make a full strength Clan Chief in a forest still battle with 4d:

1. 4d
2. 2d (out of forest)
3. 3d (+1 for Leadership)
4. 4d (+1 for Mass Might)

Tactic cards & Lore cards do not have to go in that order but come after the terrain modifier either way.

I hope I didn't make things more confusing but that is a little flow chart I use to help me keep it all straight.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven O'Shea
United States
Woodland
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We always play he would get the battle back. . . maybe we need to be changing that whistle
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastian G.
United States
St. Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks Dan, I have read you post the same thing elsewhere I do not remember where though.This time you added parenthesis one rule 1. Unit dice (including weapon).
Perfect clarification which Richard Borg would thumbs up (if he didn't already).
:)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.