K. David Ladage
United States
Cedar Rapids
Iowa
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I reviewed the core game, gave it a positive overall review, but called it deck building lite. For this, I was criticized. No problem.

I reviewed the expansion, gave it a lackluster overall review, and stated that it offered little to the game. For this I was told I was missing the fact that the expansion increased the viability of rune-based strategies.

I gave some examples of the design space I would like to have seen explored. I was then told that I should design my of expansion -- which I am doing. As a part of that project, I did an analysis of the cards that make up the center row. I had some suspicions, now I had some facts.

Since I started playing this game, many people have made the claim that rune-based strategies were made more viable after the expansion came out. After doing this analysis, I am desperately trying to wrap my head around this one.

Core Set
Not including the always-available cards and the cultist, the core set is 28% monsters and 72% heroes and constructs. Thus, the typical starting 6-card center row will be 1 or 2 monsters, and the rest things to be purchased.

Monsters have an average strength of 4.22 and give the defeating player an average of 3.00 honor.

Heroes and constructs have an average cost of 3.70 runes, give the acquiring player an average of 2.3 honor at the end of the game, as well as an average of 0.25 honor every time a non-starting-hand card is played.

Only 15% of monsters will allow you to draw more cards (giving you more options); 35% of the center deck heroes and constructs will.