Popular Tags: [View All]
Bill Kunes
United States
Cincinnati
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I see regular posts about these three games which seem similar to me at a glance. I have not played any of them so I have no experience with which to compare them first hand. I'm looking to the BGG community for insight and preferences:

Poll
Which ONE would you choose?
  Your Answer   Vote Percent Vote Count
Alien Frontiers
28.0% 23
Kingsburg
19.5% 16
Troyes
52.4% 43
Voters 82
This poll is now closed.   82 answers
Poll created by bkunes
Closes: Sat Jul 23, 2011 6:00 am

I would appreciate it if you would post a comment explaining your choice.

meeple Keep playing...

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
jflartner
United States
Conshohocken
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I recently traded away Alien Frontiers and am looking to pickup either Kingsburg or Troyes. I really enjoyed the dice in AF, but am not a huge fan of area control...

So I can't really vote since I haven't played all three...
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Lexington
Kentucky
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I vote NOT Alien Frontier. After a few plays, it seems rote.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sea
Malaysia
Kuala Lumpur
Wilayah Persekutuan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I voted for troyes, since i find it's the least "luck dependent" game of them 3. Tried Kingsburg, although it's quite fun, you can't help but think that when luck goes your way, you can't do anything at all
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin B. Smith
United States
Mercer Island
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
I have played Alien Frontiers once, and it wasn't my kind of game. Very cutthroat and aggressive at the end, and has those alien cards with special abilities that you always have to remember.

I tried Kingsburg online, and it seemed ok, but not great. Supposedly the expansion helps, although I kind of like the idea of the random combat from the base game.