All ships in the squadron must pay their charge costs separately.
Also, on page 8, first column, it reads:
Each ship in the squadron can attack with every weapon on or attached to the ship card, but you have to pay the charge cost every time.
Does this mean that EACH individual ship pays to activate (this could cost as much as 9 energy for the Blue Sparrows), and then each ship would have to pay to use an attached weapon (this part seems obvious)?
The rule on page 8 seems to be referring directly to weapon energy cost ONLY, and not overall activation of the entire squadron.
Or does one Energy Activation cost (In this case, 3) cover the entire squadron, and then each ship pays individually to use its weapons?
A small grey area, but one that has big implications due to energy use.