Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Magic: The Gathering» Forums » Rules

Subject: Mill/Draw, when do you lose? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Daniel Gonzales
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Do you lose immediately when you can no longer be milled, or do you not lose until you are unable to draw? And how does this fit in with Omen Machine (would you lose when you can't exile the top card?)?

Thanks for any responses.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jerry Martin
United States
Loveland
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
1 Million Shogoths Killed and Counting.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello!

If you have questions about specific cards please give card text as that matters a lot.

TO Answer your first question.

You lose the game when you are supposed to draw but cannot because you have no cards to draw. Having an empty library is ok. It's just when you would draw (like at the beginning of your turn) that you would lose.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tommy Occhipinti
United States
Decorah
Iowa
flag msg tools
Magic Fanboy
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Syvanis wrote:
Hello!

If you have questions about specific cards please give card text as that matters a lot.

TO Answer your first question.

You lose the game when you are supposed to draw but cannot because you have no cards to draw. Having an empty library is ok. It's just when you would draw (like at the beginning of your turn) that you would lose.


And to emphasize, it is ONLY when you would draw, not any other wording. As a specific example, Glimpse the Unthinkable is a sorcery that reads "Target player puts the top ten cards of his or her library into his or her graveyard." No player will lose the game as a result of having Glimpse the Unthinkable played on them because it does not include the word "draw."

On the other hand, the ultimate of Jace, Memory Adept reads "Any number of target players each draw twenty cards." This ability will cause a player to lose if they have 19 cards or fewer in their deck and this ability targets them.

Hope this clears it up!
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Gonzales
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the responses. That's how I thought it went (my brother was trying to argue that you lose when you can't be milled anymore).

And thank you for clarifying it only applies to that wording of text (omen machine says each player skips their draw step, each player exiles the top card of their library during their draw step...etc.), it helps resolve our issue.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B Smith
United States
Boston
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
xerex wrote:
And thank you for clarifying it only applies to that wording of text (omen machine says each player skips their draw step, each player exiles the top card of their library during their draw step...etc.), it helps resolve our issue.

Just like the Glimpse the Unthinkable case, nobody will lose the game just because Omen Machine is in play. You can only lose when you try to draw a card but don't have one to draw—but Omen Machine's very first sentence says players can't draw cards! If your library's empty, you'll just be unable to follow the instructions on the second part of the card, and then the game will continue as normal.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chad Hackman
Canada
Brampton
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
bcs_ wrote:
xerex wrote:
And thank you for clarifying it only applies to that wording of text (omen machine says each player skips their draw step, each player exiles the top card of their library during their draw step...etc.), it helps resolve our issue.

Just like the Glimpse the Unthinkable case, nobody will lose the game just because Omen Machine is in play. You can only lose when you try to draw a card but don't have one to draw—but Omen Machine's very first sentence says players can't draw cards! If your library's empty, you'll just be unable to follow the instructions on the second part of the card, and then the game will continue as normal.


Great tip. It may help the OP to know that there are cards which combat his opponent's play style like Omen Machine.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.