Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Puerto Rico» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question in Puerto Rico rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Johnson
Zimbabwe
Bulawayo
flag msg tools
Hi

We got Puerto Rico just last week and during our first game a question came up.

A player has an occupied factory. He also can produce say sugar, indigo and corn. However during the craftsman phase he only receives sugar and indigo because the corn goods are finished. The rules says "if the kind of goods a player produces is exhausted in the supply, he goes without." That fine but the question is does he get 1 or 2 doubloon(s) from the factory?

We allow the player to recieve 2 doubloon, is this correct?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Netherlands
Enschede
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You only get money from the factory for goods you actually produced, so in this case 1 gold for producing 2 goods.

In the German rules this is explained in the section where they explain how the building works, there's an example that deals with the situation you're describing.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Johnson
Zimbabwe
Bulawayo
flag msg tools
thanks Polgara.

I will advise my friends. I cant wait to play it again this weekend.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Чебурашка, ты настоящий друг!
United Kingdom
Durham
flag msg tools
Scheiß Inselaffen!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
David, if more rules questions on Puerto Rico come up, you might find some of them in the rules section of the specific page devoted to Puerto Rico.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew M
United States
New Haven
Connecticut
flag msg tools
admin
8/8 FREE, PROTECTED
badge
513ers Assemble!
Avatar
mb
Moved to Puerto Rico >> Rules
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Shepherd
Canada
Winnipeg
Manitoba
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
For more proof, here is the example under the rules for the Factory tile on page 10 of the English rules:

Quote:
Example: David owns an occupied factory, 3 occupied corn plantations, 3 occupied
sugar plantations, 1 occupied tobacco plantation, and the associated production
buildings with the necessary number of colonists. He produces only 2 sugar barrels
and 1 tobacco barrel as there is no corn and only 2 sugar barrels in the supply. He
earns 1 doubloon from the bank for producing 2 kinds of goods.


So yes, when a particular resource runs out, it no longer qualifies for the Factory.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.