Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

War of the Ring Collector's Edition» Forums » Rules

Subject: Gandalf the White questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Richardson
United States
La Crescenta
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We just finished our first 8 hour learning game of WotR CE. We did many things wrong and found the fixes for most on these forums. There were a couple of things about Gandalf the White that we could not settle. Please help!

1# If Gandalf the White is killed and Galadriel is in play, does the Free player lose a die or not?

2# If Gandalf the White uses his ability to strip Nazgul of their leadership, are shadow event cards that require Nazgul leadership not playable? The card in question was Dread and Despair. The argument my friend made was that Combat Cards are played before Combat. He felt the timing of Gandalf's White Rider ability came after his leadership forfeit.

We have more questions, but I'm still picking through the forums to make sure they haven't been answered already.

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ralf Schemmann
Germany
Siegen
NRW
flag msg tools
www.der-ringkrieg.de
badge
www.der-ringkrieg.de
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
#1 Nope, she takes over the die-providing duty again.

#2 GtW's ability comes first and counts for the whole combat. Combat cards are played at the start of each combat round. One of the reasons he's so very powerful against Nazgûl. Words of Power is one of the few Nazgul-related combat cards, that can still be used.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
To elaborate on Ralf's answer to question two, Gandalf's White Rider ability only nullifies Shadow Combat Cards that rely on Nazgûl Leadership. Those that rely on Nazgûl presence are unaffected. You have read the cards carefully.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Richardson
United States
La Crescenta
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the fast response. I look forward to playing a faster game with a better understanding of the rules.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.