Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

A Few Acres of Snow» Forums » Rules

Subject: Is my location that's under siege considered under my control... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Warren Smith
Canada
Calgary
Alberta
flag msg tools
badge
And what become of her new straw hat that should have come to me?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
...for the purpose of raiding FROM?

(my guess is no, but the rules say that a location is under control if it has a cube/disc in it.)

Also, can either side raid 'through' this location?

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ove Ahlman
Sweden
Uppsala
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'd guess no, but I haven't seen anything in the rules about it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Moore
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
mbmb
And a related question: since you can Raid through/past both uncontrolled locations and unfortified, controlled locations, would or would not the presence of a Siege block an extended raid?

The question is also debated here:

http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/678505/can-you-raid-a-locati...

Thanks for posting this thread, Mr Smith!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mfl134
United States
Havertown
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
My words literally betray me.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
catmando wrote:
And a related question: since you can Raid through/past both uncontrolled locations and unfortified, controlled locations, would or would not the presence of a Siege block an extended raid?

The question is also debated here:

http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/678505/can-you-raid-a-locati...

Thanks for posting this thread, Mr Smith!


I would say no, it does not block a raid.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Moore
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
mbmb
mfl134 wrote:
catmando wrote:
And a related question: since you can Raid through/past both uncontrolled locations and unfortified, controlled locations, would or would not the presence of a Siege block an extended raid?

The question is also debated here:

http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/678505/can-you-raid-a-locati...

Thanks for posting this thread, Mr Smith!


I would say no, it does not block a raid.


Sure and that seems the logical extension to me. It could screw with Sieges something fierce, though. Take out two steps in consecutive raids;
your opponent can only recover one in a turn. Raids may be overpowered to begin, this would be terrible bad. Not but what it would take five cards
to accomplish,
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Wallace
United Kingdom
Manchester
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
You cannot raid from a location that is under siege.

You CAN raid through a location that is being besieged - force densities are low and its a big country.

Martin
26 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Rooks
Japan
Kobe
Hyogo
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What happens to a siege when the location that launched it is destroyed in a raid?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thierry Aradan
France
ASSAS
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
You CAN raid through a location that is being besieged.

Martin,

Could you please confirm that this applies to both players. (I mean the besieged player and the besieging one).

This definitely opens up some new tactics when campaigning in the wilderness.

Quote:
force densities are low and its a big country.

Double edge sword: This could also be seen as an argument to allow raiding through fortifications

Although fundamentally different, AFAoS is as fascinating and fun as "Wilderness War" which is still in my top ten after so many years.

Kudos, Martin !!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Dearlove
United Kingdom
Chelmsford
Essex
flag msg tools
SoRCon 11 23-25 Feb 2018 Basildon UK http://www.sorcon.co.uk
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thierry Aradan wrote:
Martin Wallace wrote:
You CAN raid through a location that is being besieged.


Could you please confirm that this applies to both players. (I mean the besieged player and the besieging one).


You could also double-check whether a fortified location under siege still blocks the raid.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thierry Aradan
France
ASSAS
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks Christopher,

I forgot to mention that my question concerned fortified locations.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.