Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Magnate» Forums » Rules

Subject: Deeds for courts, developing deeds rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]

Eugene
Oregon
msg tools
Avatar
mb
When purchasing a deed for a court, three resources must be expended. Must the three consist of one of each resource listed?

When developing properties from deeds, must the mix of resources tokens follow the same rules as when completely developing a property? That is, must all the resource tokens match one of the card's suits, and must at least one of each suit be included?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kenny VenOsdel
United States
Saint Paul
Minnesota
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
When purchasing a deed for a court, three resources must be expended. Must the three consist of one of each resource listed?

When developing properties from deeds, must the mix of resources tokens follow the same rules as when completely developing a property? That is, must all the resource tokens match one of the card's suits, and must at least one of each suit be included?


I believe you need one of each of the court's suits present.

When developing from a deed to a property the resource token's must still match the card's suit but you need not have both included anymore as that requirement was met when playing it as a deed. At least that is my understanding.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls

Lacombe
Louisiana
msg tools
badge
Suddenly a shot rang out! A door slammed. The maid screamed. Suddenly a pirate ship appeared on the horizon! While millions of people were starving, the king lived in luxury. Meanwhile, on a small farm in Kansas, a boy was growing up.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Kenny's got it. Yes. No. Respectively.

Note that the Court's have a special rule, in that they count nothing for resource production [rolls of the die] but count 10 toward your total in the column [for scoring].
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
P.D. Magnus
United States
Albany
New York
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
NateStraight wrote:

Note that the Court's have a special rule, in that they count nothing for resource production [rolls of the die] but count 10 toward your total in the column [for scoring].


A deed for a Court costs three just as an extrapolation of the usual rule that a deed costs one resource token of each suit symbol. I doubt whether it is actually a good idea ever to buy a deed for a Court. Early in the game, it's probably better to sell it for three resources. Late in the game, you can buy it outright.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls

Eugene
Oregon
msg tools
Avatar
mb
Thanks for the clarifications. Might want to consider adding this to the rules, as it's not really spelled out:

kvenosdel wrote:
When developing from a deed to a property the resource token's must still match the card's suit but you need not have both included anymore as that requirement was met when playing it as a deed.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russ Williams
Poland
Wrocław
Dolny Śląsk
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
garygarison wrote:
Thanks for the clarifications. Might want to consider adding this to the rules, as it's not really spelled out:

kvenosdel wrote:
When developing from a deed to a property the resource token's must still match the card's suit but you need not have both included anymore as that requirement was met when playing it as a deed.

Agreed; this confused us as well. We thought you had to put at least one cube of each of the card's colors onto the card to finish developing it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gillum the Stoor
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From the rules at http://decktet.wikidot.com/game:magnate:
Quote:
In order to play and complete a property on the same turn, you must discard a number of resource tokens equal to the rank of the card. All the resource tokens must match one of the card's suits, and at least one of each suit must be included.
...
In order to buy a deed, you must spend two resources; one matching each suit on the card.
...
A player may develop a Court as a property by spending 10 resource tokens matching any of the three suits.
...
A deed for a Court would cost three resource tokens.

I think that the latter two would be clearer as follows:
Quote:
A player may develop a Court as a property by spending 10 resource tokens matching any of the three suits (at least one of each suit must be included).
...
A deed for a Court would cost three resource tokens; one matching each suit on the card.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gillum the Stoor
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules at the Decktet wiki have been updated to clarify these points.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.