Subject: Strategy rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Aaron Stark
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Does anyone know of a website with information on general strategy/tips for a newbie wargamer? I tried Google using many different queries and came up empty. I just want to get some good footing. I tried playing a few games online and am getting my ass handed to me.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rui Serrabulho
Portugal
Lisboa
Lisboa
flag msg tools
badge
You have to, at least from a distance, look as if you know what you're doing, and I can manage that.
mbmbmbmbmb
I am a newbie so other BGG users must have more substancial suggestions than me. I suggest the Wargaming School by Joe Steadman (part 1 and 2) about wargames, in the following link: [geekurl=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TvOv7p29s9A][/geekurl]
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim F
United Kingdom
Birmingham
West Midlands
flag msg tools
Airfix Rules anyone?
badge
Ashwin in front of Tiger 131
mbmbmbmbmb
Difficult to give general tips. If l was getting beaten regularly in the same game l would be looking at what my opponnent did right and trying to learn from that. Most games here have strategy tips on how to play them.

That said, watching your flanks, getting your troops to where the battle is going to be decided and trying to keep the initiative might be some things to bear in mind. Especially the last one. If you are doing a lot of running around just reacting to the other player you need to have a rethink. Dont get discouraged, experience will help you and even though wargames can have a steep learning curve the eventual pay back is considerable. Best of luck.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pete Belli
United States
Florida
flag msg tools
designer
"If everybody is thinking alike, then somebody isn't thinking."
mbmbmbmbmb
You can apply a few of the Principles of War to our hobby. Two of the most important are: