Recommend
8 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

No Retreat! The Russian Front» Forums » Rules

Subject: Erratta? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jesse Escobedo
United States
Rockville
MD
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Found two discrepancies in my plays this weekend.

The section on weather says that long winters give 2 shifts to defending Soviets, but it should only be the first jan/feb right? The map and player aids say that normally long winters are just on shift.

The Strategic Reserves Soviet event says that a unit in the Shattered or Eliminated box comes back, but there is no 'Eliminated' box, so we assumed it meant Destroyed box (and not Surrendered).

Also a rules question:
Counterattack says the exact same units take part, so if they are in multiple hexes and then must retreat, which hex do the attackers advance into?

Thanks,
Jesse
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
montreal
Québec
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
LordJesse wrote:
Found two discrepancies in my plays this weekend.

A- The section on weather says that long winters give 2 shifts to defending Soviets, but it should only be the first jan/feb right? The map and player aids say that normally long winters are just on shift.

B- The Strategic Reserves Soviet event says that a unit in the Shattered or Eliminated box comes back, but there is no 'Eliminated' box, so we assumed it meant Destroyed box (and not Surrendered).

C- Also a rules question:
Counterattack says the exact same units take part, so if they are in multiple hexes and then must retreat, which hex do the attackers advance into?

Thanks,
Jesse


A- Yes, only the first long winter (Jan/Feb of Turn 5) gives two shifts. This is indicated on the turn track, and in the rules for the turn's events, page 17:

5 – Two Shift Penalty vs. Soviets: This Snow Weather Turn, the Axis player loses two shifts to the left when attacking Soviet units instead of the usual one.

B- Yes, the Destroyed box (and not surrendered).

C- The attackers can advance in any of the hex(es) that the defending units occupied.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jesse Escobedo
United States
Rockville
MD
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you Carl, just wanted to make sure we were playing it right, and thought it could be added to the existing errata. As for the weather, the map and page 17 are clear, but the last sentence of 13.1 under Long Winter (p16) reads:

All Non-Finnish Axis attacks against Russian units suffer two column shifts to the left in the USSR.

Thanks,
Jesse
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
montreal
Québec
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
LordJesse wrote:
Thank you Carl, just wanted to make sure we were playing it right, and thought it could be added to the existing errata. As for the weather, the map and page 17 are clear, but the last sentence of 13.1 under Long Winter (p16) reads:

All Non-Finnish Axis attacks against Russian units suffer two column shifts to the left in the USSR.

Thanks,
Jesse


Oops! indeed. The text should be:

All Non-Finnish Axis attacks against Russian units suffer one column shift to the left in the USSR (two on Turn 5).

I will add this to the next version of the Errata sheet.

Damn.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.