Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
14 Posts

Space Empires: 4X» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can mines attack mines? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Graham Smallwood
United States
Santa Ana
California
flag msg tools
badge
Delve : the Dice Game Buy for iOS!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
They are only kinda a ship, and mines exploding is only kinda an attack phase. My guess would be it counts as a "A+" first round of attacking so that Tactics and then Defense determine the order of mine attacks, and Minesweepers are then A++.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bob
United States
Apollo Beach
Florida
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
I think yes, they can attack other Mines (in lieu of minesweepers). But that's just my 2 cents.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Debien
United States
Round Rock
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mines cannot move into an enemy occupied hex, so I cannot fathom a scenario where this would happen.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bob
United States
Apollo Beach
Florida
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
casualgod wrote:
Mines cannot move into an enemy occupied hex, so I cannot fathom a scenario where this would happen.


13.1.3 Movement Restrictions: Mines may not Explore nor may
they enter an enemy occupied hex—even when accompanied by
other friendly units. If enemy ships enter a hex containing Mines,
the Mines are automatically considered deployed and active.


You are totally right! I forgot about this caveat.
4 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Graham Smallwood
United States
Santa Ana
California
flag msg tools
badge
Delve : the Dice Game Buy for iOS!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Worked in Galaxy Quest.

Thanks Bob, and 4X Microbadge? *runs to badge store*

(Who says "fathom"?)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mustafa Ünlü
United States
Takoma Park
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
casualgod wrote:
Mines cannot move into an enemy occupied hex, so I cannot fathom a scenario where this would happen.


Can mines move into a hex occupied only by an enemy colony but no other enemy units? If the answer is yes, then this scenario could happen when the colony builds mines.

Also, since mines cannot move into an enemy occupied hex, does that also mean that a blockaded colony cannot build mines?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bob
United States
Apollo Beach
Florida
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Quote:
Can mines move into a hex occupied only by an enemy colony but no other enemy units? If the answer is yes, then this scenario could happen when the colony builds mines.

Also, since mines cannot move into an enemy occupied hex, does that also mean that a blockaded colony cannot build mines?

Good question. I think, no mines cannot move into hex with just an enemy colony sicne it is an enemy occupied hex.
I think, colonies could build mines when blockaded. The Alien Player "AI" essentially does this, plus you can build any other type of ship. They would just engage immediately like any other ship after the econ phase during the first move phase.

Quote:
Thanks Bob, and 4X Microbadge? *runs to badge store*

Damn straight.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Krohn
United States
New York
flag msg tools
designer
You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.
badge
Ahhh....my misspent youth...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
Can mines move into a hex occupied only by an enemy colony but no other enemy units? If the answer is yes, then this scenario could happen when the colony builds mines.


No, they can not move into an enemy colony. Bob is right, it is an enemy occupied hex.

Quote:
Also, since mines cannot move into an enemy occupied hex, does that also mean that a blockaded colony cannot build mines?


By very nature, a blockaded colony has no ships or ship yards left. They either were destroyed or they retreated.

It is true that the blockaded colony could then build a SY but, since SYs are placed at the same time as ships (and mines), that SY could not be used to build mines.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Debien
United States
Round Rock
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dorque wrote:
(Who says "fathom"?)


*raises hand*
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darrell Hanning
United States
Jacksonville
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
We will meet at the Hour of Scampering.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Okay, but can mimes attack mimes? And if they do, since nobody will hear them, does that mean it didn't really happen?
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Wilcoxon
United States
Apple Valley
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DarrellKH wrote:
Okay, but can mimes attack mimes? And if they do, since nobody will hear them, does that mean it didn't really happen?


I don't see why you would want to since a mime is a terrible thing to waste.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Todd Warnken
United States
Harrison
Ohio
flag msg tools
I'm not crazy. My mother had me tested.
badge
Happy grandfather!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DarrellKH wrote:
Okay, but can mimes attack mimes? And if they do, since nobody will hear them, does that mean it didn't really happen?


You! Get out now!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jef Addley
United Kingdom
Leatherhead
Surrey
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dorque wrote:
Worked in Galaxy Quest.

Thanks Bob, and 4X Microbadge? *runs to badge store*

(Who says "fathom"?)


Dont let hime get to you David

I can't fathom why anyone would be surprised by the use of Fathom. laugh
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Debien
United States
Round Rock
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
JefA wrote:
Dorque wrote:
Worked in Galaxy Quest.

Thanks Bob, and 4X Microbadge? *runs to badge store*

(Who says "fathom"?)


Dont let hime get to you David

I can't fathom why anyone would be surprised by the use of Fathom. laugh


Wasn't really offended. If I have a bone to pick with Graham, I can always take him out to Boardgaming-Online and challenge him to another 1v1 of Through the Ages.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.