Subject: GeekMod - Images and Copyright rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Friederike
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi!

I've just started trying to contribute to GeekMod and I am not really sure about the guidelines especially for pictures.

Quite often promotional images are submitted, sometimes in the notes or captions it is mentioned from which page they are taken.
An example is this (definitely very useful) picture

As such images normally seem to get approved, is it ok to upload them?
I would have thought you needed permission for that.

So my question is: In which cases is it allowed to upload images from publisher or game store websites?

And - if permission is necessary: How do I find out whether the user uploading it has acquired the permission?

The answer to this is probably obvious, but being a Newbie, I just don't know, so would appreciate help.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Danzer
Germany
Stuttgart
southwest
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
First rule for submitting images:
"You must own the image in some way or have permission to use it for this purpose."

So, if a pic is obviously an "official shot", even with the note, where it is from: If there is no remark in the geekmod notes by the submitting user regarding the copyright, decline it with the comment "copyright unexplained", no matter, what others do.

As long as a picture is not under the "creative commons license", it is not free for being published here.

A good example how to do it is this one:

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Liam
Scotland
flag msg tools
admin
badge
I am BGG's official honey trap
mbmbmbmbmb
First rule of geek modding:

The better you are at modding the lower your percentage of matches.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Friederike
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks a lot for your helpful answers.

So I will decline such images in the future instead of skipping them (as I have done up to now).

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide