Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

High Frontier» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rocket Movement, Landing, Thursters rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rob Fores
msg tools
Basic Questions,

There are 24 cards of Thusters,Robonauts,Refineries.are there 8 of each?

The expansion does not add more Thusters, Robonauts & refineries, It just adds support cards?

Rocket movement Questions:

1) are you required to move a rocket. lets say you have a moving refinery product on a freighter
coming the opposite way and on the same path as rocket. Lets say a burn-space is between them.
The rocket declines to move to the burn space, however the Freighter makes the burn and termporarily occupies the same space
as the rocket. You can merge the Freighter into rocket. on the NEXT turn the now combined rocket
could move off in either direction.?

2) Lets say you've created an outpost on a ET factory space on an asteroid of size 5.
You have a nearby rocket + Robonaut and would like to merge the content of the outpost to
your rocket. in order to do this YOU ARE REQUIRED TO LAND on the outpost site? YES? You can't just say you move to a space and not
land hope the factory chucks it up to you.


3)
If in the expample above IF you are required to land but the fuel requirements are too high because you
need to use the lander fuel penalty, it seems better to just convert the outpost to a freighter. get
the free boost OFF the landing site, and THEN join the other rocket parts.


4) Lets talk about the Lander problem for large sized worlds. Some Robonauts and crew cards have
High Thurst values BUT high fuel Use. For size 9 or 10 worlds those thursters would come in handy.
For at rocket stack that includes a Thurster,Crew card,Robonaut, & Refinery. Can you on rocket
move turn declare that your powerfull Crew card thruster will thurst you AND your entire stack
to the surface of the body WITHOUT using fuel IF the thurst is greater the site size. I presume
that a robonaut could do the same thing if it had the capacity.

5) question. some thrusters one thrust point short of letting you land on a world without the
Lander fuel penalty. But they have AFTER burners. Could spend just AFTERBURNER FUEL to increase
your Thurst by one greater than the size size and avoid the full lander fuel penalty.?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Chamberlain
United States
Tracy
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Had a go at this but Questions came Up
1) no you are not required to move your rocket. it can sit and wait for the freighter as long as it wants. and yes, the rocket can move of in any direction it wants on the turn after it merges with the card in the freighter.

2) yes. to move cards between stacks, the stacks must be in the same space.

3) you can't "convert an outpost to a freighter". you can convert a black card to a freighter and then move it, but the special case of a black (non-crew) card is the only case where you can do that. there is an optional freighter rule in the living rules that allows you to do more with freighters but by the base rules, freighters are limited to a single black card.

4) yes. that is largely, one of the few things those high thrust, poor efficiency thrusters are good for: landing on heavy objects.

5) yes.
4 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Eklund
United States
Tucson
Arizona
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Had a go at this but Questions came Up
As jeff says.

I would add for #3 that freighters can only be built at factories.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rus
United States
Mountain View
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Had a go at this but Questions came Up
Admiral_Ritt wrote:
There are 24 cards of Thusters,Robonauts,Refineries.are there 8 of each?

The expansion does not add more Thusters, Robonauts & refineries, It just adds support cards?

Base game: 8 thrusters, 9 robonauts, 7 refineries IIRC

Expansion: 1 thruster, 23 support cards

Caveat regarding #4 and #5: keep in mind that you must declare your thruster, acceleration, and rocket mass all at the beginning of the movement phase and these apply for the duration of that phase. You cannot use an efficient thruster to move and then switch to a high thrust thruster to land during the same movement phase. Likewise if there is a burn space immediately adjacent to a site hex, then upon lift-off you must execute that burn with the same thruster you used for lift-off. Also, technically you cannot use afterburners to increase thrust once your rocket started moving.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.