Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Sekigahara: The Unification of Japan» Forums » Rules

Subject: Mandatory Combat and Leaders? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
StevenE Smooth Sailing...
United States
Torrance
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Questions on combat.

1. If combat is initiated does the defender have to stand their ground?
1a. Can the defender opt to retreat immediately?
1b. If they can do they suffer a 1 block loss?

2. What happens if the defender holds no cards to deploy a block (no matching mon)?

3. Is it mandatory to deploy a special block if present and player holds no matching mon to deploy initial blocks (see question 2)?

4. If a leader is deployed at the begining of a battle (8.2.4) and the player suffers losses due to impact must the leader be removed as it was first deployed?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Parker
Australia
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Great game design makes the complex simple, replayability maximum, and abstraction credible.
badge
It’s not how well you roll that counts but how well the dice suit the game.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. There must still be a battle, but the defender can choose to play no cards. The attacker still gets the opportunity to inflict as much Impact as desired before the defender gets to retreat (if he survives).

2. That's the aim of the game - to catch the other side out. The other side then gets to inflict as much Impact as it desires.

3. No, you can husband your cards for future battles if that's what you desire. It's up to each side, how much impact they want to inflict.

4. The first losses of a battle (after blocks that swapped their loyalty) must come from blocks deployed. If you have deployed a leader plus another block, and must take 1 loss - you choose which to kill. If you need to take 2 losses, both blocks will die. If you've only deployed a leader and have to take 1 loss, it's bye bye Daimyo.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Collins
Canada
Prince Rupert
British Columbia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As I read the rules, there is NO retreat before combat. It came up in our game the other night, too. It's tough, but...that's Sekigahara!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.