Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Zenjoy
Australia
Perth
Western Australia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Prior this tournament, I had never played a game of Malifaux. Sure I'd done my reasearch, updating the wiki page "Pull My Finger" to assist in my gaining a deeper understanding of how each model worked, but I had never played a game and lacked the field experience. Diving in to a "trial-by-fire", I took the plunge with a 4-round tournament and this was my result:

My Crew
- McMourning
- Sebastian
- Chiwahuha
- Bete Noir
- x6 Dogs

Reserves
- x2 Flesh Constructs

Game 1 - McMourning VS Sonniia Criid
Simple answer - disaster - but an educational one (first game teaches you plenty). I have little knowledge as to why I chose to place McMourning so far away from Criid. I believe I was scared of the blasts she was going to let off and understood McMourning dies fast. Suffice to say, everything on my side dropped dead by turn 3. I even had a tone of Body-Parts to summon a Flesh Construct but no cards to cast it right (and even then - casting spells near Sonniia rarely works). In the end I learned my lesson - including when to let Bete Noir out (summoned her too quick without checking if I had a card to bury her if she died - big error).

At the end, my opponent let me know that to face Sonniia is a challenge to face - especially for a first game-rookie against a regular player. However he was very sporting and wanted to make sure I didn't feel too down about it as he didn't want me first game to influence my feelings on the result. I appreciated that it, smiled, took notes on what I had done wrong, and got ready for the next game.

Game 2 - McMourning VS Summer Teeth Jones
This was great. I've always been interested in the goblins but had no idea how they played. I assumed they would die fast, which made me wonder what the big deal was in playing them.