Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Memoir '44: Air Pack» Forums » Rules

Subject: Air Pack turn overview clarification rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: 44 [+] [View All]
The Compulsive Completist
United States
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I have read the Air Pack rule book three times now and still don't have a handle on the rules. It may be that my brain is just misfiring but the rule book really seems to be lacking clarity.

Can someone maybe post a typical turn overview when using a plane with the Air Pack rules?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan C
United States
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
See if this helps:


YOUR TURN
ORDER:
Plane already in the air? Order it this turn, or it is removed from the board.
Plane already in the air and you are ordering it? Roll for air checks: if you fail, remove and results in medal for opponent if opponent unit adjacent to plane.

MOVE:
Move all units including plane.
- If entering plane onto the board:
o Air Sortie/Air Power – enter from any edge of the board
o Air Sortie/Air Power + Section card – enter plane from edge of board in that section
- Plane can only do one of the following actions:
- If Strafing, roll for strafing attacks at end of airplane’s move
- If Kamakaze, roll at end of airplane’s move
- If Rescue, takes place at end of airplane’s move

COMBAT:
Ground Support, if plane has already not done an action this turn – negates terrain protection

END OF TURN:
Recon takes effect if plane has not already done an action this turn

YOUR OPPONENT’S TURN
Ground Interdiction – affects opponents units, but only if plane didn’t strafe during your last turn

edit: clairifed aircheck medal situation, thanks to Mark's comment below.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
Hockey Mask wrote:
I have read the Air Pack rule book three times now and still don't have a handle on the rules. It may be that my brain is just misfiring but the rule book really seems to be lacking clarity.

Can someone maybe post a typical turn overview when using a plane with the Air Pack rules?

Going from memory here so some of the details may be off - but this is the general flow.

First, you can only order a plane if A) one is on the board or B) you have an Air Sortie/Air Power card in hand.

If you already have a plane on the board, you can order it with any card that matches the section it is currently in. And in fact, if it is flying, you must order it when it is flying or it gets removed from the board (to be used later potentially and does not count as a medal).

If it is not on the board, the only way to bring it on to the board is to play the Air Sortie card. You can play it by itself to order a plane and that is the only thing you do. Or you can play it with another section card which then takes up an order on that card. If it is the Air Power card, which can only be in your hand, then you must play this by itself.

So the turn would be:

A) Command Card Phase: Play a card and/or the Air Sortie Card
B) Order Phase: Order your Plane and/or other Units
C) Movement Phase: Move your Plan and/or other Units
D) Combat Phase: Engage in Combat.
E) Draw Phase: You only draw a card if you played one from your hand. If you played the Air Sortie, you don't replace that card. If you happen to draw the Air Sortie (because they started in the deck or got reshuffled back in), then you place it face up and draw a replacement for your hand.

The plane actions take place during different phases, depending on what it is.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
The Compulsive Completist
United States
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Perfect, perfect, perfect! Thanks a bunch. There should be something like this in the rule book but I sure didn't see it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mark selleck
Australia
Alice Springs
NT
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jedimusic wrote:
See if this helps:


Roll for air checks: if you fail, remove and results in medal for opponent



remember it only results in a medal for your opponent if one of their units was next to the aircraft when making the aircheck, otherwise its just removed from the board.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J. Atkinson
United States
Grant
AL
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ColtsFan76 wrote:
Hockey Mask wrote:
I have read the Air Pack rule book three times now and still don't have a handle on the rules. It may be that my brain is just misfiring but the rule book really seems to be lacking clarity.

Can someone maybe post a typical turn overview when using a plane with the Air Pack rules?

Going from memory here so some of the details may be off - but this is the general flow.

First, you can only order a plane if A) one is on the board or B) you have an Air Sortie/Air Power card in hand.

If you already have a plane on the board, you can order it with any card that matches the section it is currently in. And in fact, if it is flying, you must order it when it is flying or it gets removed from the board (to be used later potentially and does not count as a medal).

If it is not on the board, the only way to bring it on to the board is to play the Air Sortie card. You can play it by itself to order a plane and that is the only thing you do. Or you can play it with another section card which then takes up an order on that card. If it is the Air Power card, which can only be in your hand, then you must play this by itself.

So the turn would be:

A) Command Card Phase: Play a card and/or the Air Sortie Card
B) Order Phase: Order your Plane and/or other Units
C) Movement Phase: Move your Plan and/or other Units
D) Combat Phase: Engage in Combat.
E) Draw Phase: You only draw a card if you played one from your hand. If you played the Air Sortie, you don't replace that card. If you happen to draw the Air Sortie (because they started in the deck or got reshuffled back in), then you place it face up and draw a replacement for your hand.

The plane actions take place during different phases, depending on what it is.


Best summary to date.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.