Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Dominion» Forums » Rules

Subject: gain rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
mike iapezzuto
United States
Surprise
Arizona
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
when you gain a card do you have to pay for it?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
Glory to Rome!
badge
"Let each man pass his days in that wherein his skill is greatest" Propertius Sextus
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No. You only pay for it if you buy it.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mike iapezzuto
United States
Surprise
Arizona
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Thanx
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Erik Henry
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Just to clarify: Buying is a subset of gaining. That is, buying is one way to gain a card. There are others.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Wolfe
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
Zendo fan, Columbus Blue Jackets fan, Dominion Fan.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Erik17 wrote:
Just to clarify: Buying is a subset of gaining. That is, buying is one way to gain a card. There are others.

Actually buying is not a subset of gaining. Buying triggers a gain, but it is not itself a gain.

You Buy a card by paying for it. As a consequence of Buying the card, you Gain it. The two things happen in order: Buy, then Gain.

For example, if you Buy a Mint with Royal Seal in play, the following happens:

Buy Mint by paying for it.
-> When you buy Mint, trash all Treasure in play (including Royal Seal)
Gain Mint as a consequence of Buying it
-> Royal Seal can't put Mint on top of your deck, because it is not in play.

4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Erik Henry
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
jeffwolfe wrote:
Erik17 wrote:
Just to clarify: Buying is a subset of gaining. That is, buying is one way to gain a card. There are others.

Actually buying is not a subset of gaining. Buying triggers a gain, but it is not itself a gain.

You Buy a card by paying for it. As a consequence of Buying the card, you Gain it. The two things happen in order: Buy, then Gain.

For example, if you Buy a Mint with Royal Seal in play, the following happens:

Buy Mint by paying for it.
-> When you buy Mint, trash all Treasure in play (including Royal Seal)
Gain Mint as a consequence of Buying it
-> Royal Seal can't put Mint on top of your deck, because it is not in play.


I thought buying encompassed both the paying and the gaining (which still makes my subset comment wrong). I see what you're saying, though.

I think the second part (". . . . buying is one way to gain a card. There are others") is still correct.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.