Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Tobago» Forums » Rules

Subject: Clue cards question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Fredo Star
Canada
flag msg tools
Hi all!

I hope my question will be clear since english is my second language...

When a clue card says that the treasure is within 2 spaces from lets say a hut, can the treasure be located on the space occupied by the hut hitself??

Thanks for your help!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Beaton
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
I have a cunning plan
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No rule book handy, but I believe the answer is no. A hut is not within 2 spaces of itself.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick
United States
Savage
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmb
No.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick Blaha
United States
Plainfield
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
What a Terrible Night to Have a Curse.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It has been a while since I have played Tobago, but I believe if a card is played indicating that the treasure is within any number of spaces of a given landmark, the treasure cannot be on the landmark (the lardmark being the 0th space from itself and would thus be a different card showing that the treasure is in the landmark shown).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Billy McBoatface
United States
Lexington
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
KGS is the #1 web site for playing go over the internet. Visit now!
badge
Yes, I really am that awesome.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The answer is no. See the sheet that decodes the clue card icons; it specifically states that the "next to" and "within sight of" clues also means that the treasure cannot be on that type of terrain.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Was George Orwell an Optimist?
United States
Corvallis
Oregon
flag msg tools
The Herbie Nichols Project - Dr. Cyclops' Dream
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In normal English usage, "within 2 spaces" would include the space measured from, but I can't find that term anywhere in Tobago - the clue cards have no text. I presume you're mentally applying that description to card type 3 on the player aid card, which is labeled "In sight of the landmark". (Long way of saying I don't think it's English that threw you off, but symbol interpretation).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Duff
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules text is very precise on this:

Card Type 3: „In Sight of the landmark“: EXACTLY 1 OR 2 SPACES from the landmark

The hut is 0 away, not 1 or 2.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Manchuwok
Canada
Mission
BC
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Why not make another post with the same answer?

No.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fredo Star
Canada
flag msg tools
Quote:
Why not make another post with the same answer?

No.


Haha!

Yeah why not!

Tanks all for your answers!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.