Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Space Empires: 4X» Forums » Rules

Subject: Building ships with no hull size rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ben Vincent
United States
Ridgefield
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I didn't see this in the rules: when building a ship (or multiple ships) with no hull size (i.e. colony ships, mining ships), do they use up any of the shipyard capacity?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Debien
United States
Round Rock
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Answered in the FAQ:

Q. I see by the Example in Section 7.6.1 of the rules that one unit of shipyard capacity is required to place a colony fleet (no hull size is specified).I guess the same holds true for miners and MS pipelines?
A. Yes, it does. I am jotting down a note to make that more clear on the player aid cards as well. Ship Yards, Bases, and Decoys do not use Ship Yard capacity - everything else does.

FAQ Link:

http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?233@992.Sb8CcyGlG52.36@.1dd...
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Vincent
United States
Ridgefield
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Is that 1 per ship, or 1 for a group, regardless of the number of ships? I assume it's 1 per ship, which means the effectively have a hull size of 1.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Wilcoxon
United States
Apple Valley
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
According to rule 2.5 the ships you mentioned (which I believe are the ones without a listed hull size) are always single ships. SO, they don't get a number marker when placed and have (as you assumed) hull size of 1.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Krohn
United States
New York
flag msg tools
designer
You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.
badge
Ahhh....my misspent youth...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, each require 1 SY to build, but pay no maintenance.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh Morgan
United States
Indianapolis
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Jim Krohn wrote:
Yes, each require 1 SY to build, but pay no maintenance.


So for example if I had 1 SY I could produce only one Colony Ship or Miner or MS Pipeline, and additionally any amount of other ships up to the limit on hull size for the SY?

EX:
1 SY = (1 Colony Ship/Miner/MS Pipeline) + SY capacity
2 SY = (2 Colony Ship/Miner/MS Pipeline) + (SY capacity * 2)
3 SY = (3 Colony Ship/Miner/MS Pipeline) + (SY capacity * 3)
.
.
.
etc?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Debien
United States
Round Rock
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rhoubhe wrote:
Jim Krohn wrote:
Yes, each require 1 SY to build, but pay no maintenance.


So for example if I had 1 SY I could produce only one Colony Ship or Miner or MS Pipeline, and additionally any amount of other ships up to the limit on hull size for the SY?

EX:
1 SY = (1 Colony Ship/Miner/MS Pipeline) + SY capacity
2 SY = (2 Colony Ship/Miner/MS Pipeline) + (SY capacity * 2)
3 SY = (3 Colony Ship/Miner/MS Pipeline) + (SY capacity * 3)
.
.
.
etc?


Wait, what?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Buetow
United States
McHenry
Illinois
flag msg tools
Combat Commander Archivist
badge
Move! Advance! Fire! Rout! Recover! Artillery Denied! Artillery Request! Command Confusion...say what?!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rhoubhe wrote:
Jim Krohn wrote:
Yes, each require 1 SY to build, but pay no maintenance.


So for example if I had 1 SY I could produce only one Colony Ship or Miner or MS Pipeline, and additionally any amount of other ships up to the limit on hull size for the SY?

EX:
1 SY = (1 Colony Ship/Miner/MS Pipeline) + SY capacity
2 SY = (2 Colony Ship/Miner/MS Pipeline) + (SY capacity * 2)
3 SY = (3 Colony Ship/Miner/MS Pipeline) + (SY capacity * 3)
.
.
.
etc?


Uh...no. SY has nothing to do with maintenance. You have 1 SY you can build one of anything that is hull size 1. That's it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh Morgan
United States
Indianapolis
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Wow ok I completely played that wrong for my solo game. I need to re-read that rule.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Raúl Lopezosa
Spain
Almendralejo
Badajoz
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1 SY = (1 Colony Ship/Miner/MS Pipeline) OR SY capacity
2 SY = (2 Colony Ship/Miner/MS Pipeline) OR (SY capacity * 2) OR (1 Colony Ship/Miner/MS Pipeline) + SY capacity
3 SY = (3 Colony Ship/Miner/MS Pipeline) OR (SY capacity * 3) OR (1 Colony Ship/Miner/MS Pipeline) + SY capacity * 2 OR (2 Colony Ship/Miner/MS Pipeline) + SY capacity

What now?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Debien
United States
Round Rock
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
csibadajoz wrote:
1 SY = (1 Colony Ship/Miner/MS Pipeline) OR SY capacity
2 SY = (2 Colony Ship/Miner/MS Pipeline) OR (SY capacity * 2) OR (1 Colony Ship/Miner/MS Pipeline) + SY capacity
3 SY = (3 Colony Ship/Miner/MS Pipeline) OR (SY capacity * 3) OR (1 Colony Ship/Miner/MS Pipeline) + SY capacity * 2 OR (2 Colony Ship/Miner/MS Pipeline) + SY capacity

What now?


No.

Why make it so complicated? Just think of colony ships, miners and pipelines as having 1 hull point for purposes of determining ship yard capacity during building. Done!
4 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Krohn
United States
New York
flag msg tools
designer
You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.
badge
Ahhh....my misspent youth...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What David said.

I need to update the reference card for the future to make that clearer.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Raúl Lopezosa
Spain
Almendralejo
Badajoz
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
casualgod wrote:
csibadajoz wrote:
1 SY = (1 Colony Ship/Miner/MS Pipeline) OR SY capacity
2 SY = (2 Colony Ship/Miner/MS Pipeline) OR (SY capacity * 2) OR (1 Colony Ship/Miner/MS Pipeline) + SY capacity
3 SY = (3 Colony Ship/Miner/MS Pipeline) OR (SY capacity * 3) OR (1 Colony Ship/Miner/MS Pipeline) + SY capacity * 2 OR (2 Colony Ship/Miner/MS Pipeline) + SY capacity

What now?


No.

Why make it so complicated? Just think of colony ships, miners and pipelines as having 1 hull point for purposes of determining ship yard capacity during building. Done!



Lots of thanks. My bad English make me to by insistent, persistent and repeated. This evening will be our first game.... yeah !!!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.